Who said: "The worst thing about reading new books..."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"The worst thing about reading new books is that they keep us from reading the old ones."
— Joseph Joubert

Joseph JoubertJoseph Joubert (1754-1824) was a French moralist and essayist. He attended a religious college in Toulouse from the age of 14 where he later taught until he was 26, after which he went to Paris where he later became friends with the writer and statesman Francis René, Vicomte de Chateaubriand (one of the founders of romanticism in French literature, whose name lives on through the eponymously named Chateaubriand steak, created by his chef).

Joubert published nothing during his lifetime but wrote copious letters and filled many notebooks with thoughts about the nature of humanity, literature and other subjects. After his death his widow entrusted Chateaubriand with his notes some of which were published in 1838 in a volume titled Recueil des pensées de M. Joubert (Collected Thoughts of Mr. Joubert). Joubert's Pensées have been published in many languages, including English.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Graybar Hotel
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins
    We – those of us on the outside – are lucky. So very lucky. We get to experience life &#...
  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.