Cold Antarctica, a Tourism Hot Spot: Background information when reading Where'd You Go, Bernadette

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Where'd You Go, Bernadette

A Novel

by Maria Semple

Where'd You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Dec 2012, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2013, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Cold Antarctica, a Tourism Hot Spot

Print Review

Where'd You Go Bernadette has much talk about Antarctica, the coldest, windiest, driest desert continent on earth. Located around the South Pole, Antarctica covers an area of 5.1 million square miles (larger than the US, as well as the continents of Europe or Australia) and has a thick ice cap that has built over millions of years.

Size comparison between the US and AntarcticaThose who can afford the price tag of around $10,000 can go on a cruise to the continent navigating through the Drake Passage. The Drake Passage is a body of water, which connects the southern tip of South America and the Shetland islands of Antarctica. Passage through this body of water is a must but tourists need to pack a lot of Dramamine because it can be an extremely choppy ride – it's not called the "Drake Shake" for nothing. The departure point for cruises is usually from Argentina or Chile and cruises ply in the months of November through March (summer in the Antarctic.) Wildlife includes whales, seals and, of course, scores of penguins (contrary to popular misconception, polar bears are not found in Antarctica). Since there are no cities and hotels on the continent, visitors are bound to the ships for the most part, taking brief excursions on rafts or sea kayaks to swim in hot springs or even mail a letter from the post office at Port Lockroy. Those interested in visiting the actual South Pole will be disappointed because it's inaccessible to tourists – the cruises from North America mostly visit the Antarctic Peninsula on the northwest part of the continent. The most popular tourist spots on the peninsula include Deception Island, Pendulum Cove (famous for hot springs one can swim in), the volcanic Paulet island and Port Lockroy, which houses a staffed museum and gift shop. Penguins

The Antarctic Peninsula is also home to the Palmer Station, a U.S.-research base. Around 40 people live at the base during the summer months conducting research on marine biology, geology, environmental science and other sciences. The Palmer Station is funded by the United States Antarctic Program, which was created to support the goals of the Antarctic Treaty. The National Science Foundation funds the program.

Click on the video below to see the choppiness of the waters through the Drake Passage:



Article by Poornima Apte

This article is from the April 3, 2013 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

The library is the temple of learning, and learning has liberated more people than all the wars in history

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.