Who said: "If passion drives you, let reason hold the reins"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Benjamin Franklin"If passion drives you, let reason hold the reins" - Benjamin Franklin

Born in Boston in 1706, Benjamin Franklin was a man of many talents. Despite having little formal schooling, he wrote and published newspapers and books, conducted scientific experiments, came up with new inventions, was a statesman and diplomat and, of course, had an integral role in the formation of the United States of America.

After working for his father as a candle maker, he was apprenticed to his older brother James in his print shop, but the brothers did not get along so Franklin left for Philadelphia where he found work at print shops and, having established his own shop, began to publish The Pennsylvania Gazette in 1730, writing many of the articles himself. The Gazette and the almanac that he published every year for many years (Poor Richard's Almanac) made him quite rich.

By the late 1740s, Franklin was devoting much of his time to science, with a particular interest in electricity. Among other inventions, he is credited with creating the lightning rod, bifocals, a particularly efficient stove known as the Franklin stove, and an odometer for use in carriages. He was also responsible for forming the first public library in America and establishing the first fire department. In addition, he played a major role in establishing the University of Pennsylvania, Franklin & Marshall College, and the American Philosophical Society, of which he was first president.

As an early proponent of colonial unity, he spearheaded the effort to have the British parliament repeal the unpopular Stamp Act and, it could be said, invented the idea of an American nation through his writings and activism; and, by securing an alliance with the French, helped make independence possible. Later in life, he became a prominent abolitionist. He died in 1790


More quotes by Benjamin Franklin

A learned blockhead is a greater blockhead than an ignorant one.

A penny saved is a penny earned.

A place for everything, everything in its place.

Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.

Beware the hobby that eats.

Guests, like fish, begin to smell after three days.

Half a truth is often a great lie.

If a man empties his purse into his head, no man can take it away from him. An investment in knowledge always pays the best interest.

In general, mankind, since the improvement of cookery, eats twice as much as nature requires.

Keep your eyes wide open before marriage, half shut afterwards.

Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five.

Rather go to bed with out dinner than to rise in debt.

Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

The U. S. Constitution doesn't guarantee happiness, only the pursuit of it. You have to catch up with it yourself.

Time is money.

Wars are not paid for in wartime, the bill comes later.

We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid.

When in doubt, don't.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.