A Look at the Khmer Rouge: Background information when reading In the Shadow of the Banyan

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In the Shadow of the Banyan

A Novel

by Vaddey Ratner

In the Shadow of the Banyan by Vaddey Ratner X
In the Shadow of the Banyan by Vaddey Ratner
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2012, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2013, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte
Buy This Book

A Look at the Khmer Rouge

This article relates to In the Shadow of the Banyan

Print Review

Before the Khmer Rouge (pronounced ki-mer roouze, effectively translating as Red Cambodians) wreaked havoc all over Cambodia and killed approximately one quarter of the country's seven million people, they were mostly a fringe communist guerrilla group operating in the jungles in the north of the country. Early in the 70s, then-Prince Norodom Sihanouk was deposed in a coup and, to retain support, he decided to seek the Khmer Rouge's help. This one move granted the group legitimacy and soon the Khmer Rouge, under the leadership of Pol Pot, became fairly popular in the villages and then slowly made their way into the cities.

Pol Pot Pol Pot had grand plans - he decided that Cambodians didn't require education or religion. All the country needed was an agrarian model of society so everyone could eat and survive. This meant of course that many had to be forced into agriculture. The Khmer Rouge achieved this by displacing millions of Cambodians from cities and moving them into forced labor camps in the countryside. Families were split asunder, each person serving a basic function in the overall chain of command. Those who were seen as a threat or who resisted were killed, while many others died from starvation and exhaustion under extreme conditions.

Soon the organization decided that Democratic Kampuchea (as Cambodia was renamed under the Khmer Rouge) needed to be cleansed of "polluting elements." As a result, professionals, foreigners (or anybody who looked even remotely "foreign"), the intelligentsia, and those considered unfaithful to the cause, were summarily executed in the country's "killing fields." (Today, some of these killing fields serve as memorials to those who died, and Buddhist shrines called stupas house the bones of the dead.) A commemorative stupa filled with the skulls of the victims at the Killing Field of Choeung Ek During the 70s, neighboring Vietnam was undergoing turmoil of its own, but this did not prevent the two countries from clashing repeatedly. Pol Pot and the Khmer Rouge were eventually displaced in 1979 when Vietnam invaded from the North. In 1998, Pol Pot died in hiding - never having been brought to trial for his atrocities.

Other members of the Khmer Rouge were only recently (circa 2011) brought to trial through a special tribunal set up under the auspices of the United Nations. Even if these leaders were sentenced to prison, many Cambodians believed justice had not been adequately served in response to one of history's most horrific genocides.

Today, Cambodia has a multiparty democratic system under a constitutional monarchy.

For more information, watch PBS's excellent documentary on the Khmer Rouge and Pol Pot, below (begins at 1 minute 20 seconds). Or look at Time's photo gallery entitled "The Legacy of Pol Pot: A Photographic Record of Mass Murder."



You can also watch a video of author Vaddey Ratner discussing why she chose to write the book, click on the video below:

Article by Poornima Apte

This "beyond the book article" relates to In the Shadow of the Banyan. It originally ran in September 2012 and has been updated for the June 2013 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.