The Game of Cricket: Background information when reading Homesick

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Homesick

by Roshi Fernando

Homesick by Roshi Fernando X
Homesick by Roshi Fernando
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2012, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2013, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte
Buy This Book

About this Book

The Game of Cricket

This article relates to Homesick

Print Review

In Homesick, Victor, a Sri Lankan immigrant to England, views his native country's cricket team as his own. He owes allegiance to them and takes pride in their successes. Roshi Fernando uses this sport as a metaphor for her character's desire to break free of colonial ties.

cricket bats The game of cricket is defined by Merriam-Webster as "a game played with a ball and bat by two sides of usually 11 players each on a large field centering upon two wickets each defended by a batsman." Possibly an ancestor of American baseball, the sport plays somewhat similarly. One person, called the "bowler," pitches (or "delivers") a hard leather ball down a 22-yard-long strip of dirt (called the "pitch") toward the other team's batter who is protecting his team's wicket from being hit by the ball. The batter defends the wicket by hitting the ball with a flat wooden bat, and he then tries to score as many runs as possible. Meanwhile, the pitching team members field the hit ball and attempt to get the batter out before he's able to run to the other side of the pitch. (For more information on the official rules, visit the International Cricket Council website.)

cricket field

First played in England in the 1500s, cricket spread through British colonial territories in the 1800s, and the English initially used the game as a way of delineating clear boundaries between the rulers and the ruled. According to the International Slavery Museum, "Cricket was watched only by 'highly respectable ladies and gentlemen', while the plantation owners prepared the cricket field and provided the hospitality... Cricket was taught in missionary schools in order to impart English values to the indigenous people." However, over time, slaves came to make the sport their own, and it shed its roots as a tool for setting social boundaries. Along the way, the game became deeply symbolic of people trying to free themselves from oppression.

The first English touring team on board ship at Liverpool in 1859 As in Homesick, cricket's use as metaphor is apparent in the immensely popular Bollywood film, Lagaan (2001). The movie won an Oscar nomination for Best Foreign Language Film and enjoyed a cult following in the United States. In it, Indian farmers rebel against a "lagaan" - a tax imposed by the British overlords. Looking to break the yoke, they agree to a game of cricket as the deciding factor. If the Indian villagers win, there will be no tax, if they lose the tax will be tripled. The roaring success of this movie in India and beyond likely validates that many still use the game as an equalizer, especially in places where colonial wounds may remain raw.

For more information and images, check out my Pinterest board for Homesick or read the BBC article entitled "Cricket and the Abolition of Slavery." You can also click on the video below to watch the trailer for Lagaan:

Photo of cricket game by ~Prescott
Photo of bats on Wikimedia Commons

Article by Poornima Apte

This "beyond the book article" relates to Homesick. It originally ran in July 2012 and has been updated for the July 2013 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.