Beyond the Book: Background information when reading A Golden Age

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Golden Age

by Tahmima Anam

A Golden Age by Tahmima Anam X
A Golden Age by Tahmima Anam
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2008, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2009, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to A Golden Age

Print Review

First-time novelist Tahmima Anam has written for The New York Times, Granta and The New Statesman. Links to some of her articles are provided on her website. Her father, Mahfuz Anam, is the editor of The Daily Star, Bangladesh's foremost English language daily newspaper and chairman of a Bangladeshi NGO called the Freedom Foundation. Her grandfather was journalist, politician and writer Abul Mansur Ahmed, who founded the Bangladesh Awami League and was imprisoned for four years between 1958 and 1962 when martial law was declared.

In an interview on NPR, Anam explains that her main character, Rehama, is based on her own grandmother's experience and that one of the other main characters is based on her uncle.

The Bangla2000 web portal offers a short history of Bangladesh and the BBC offers a thorough country profile.

Urdu poetry is woven into the novel, appearing at least twice at crucial moments in the lives of Anam's characters. James Madison University Library's website currently features an online multimedia exhibit of Urdu poetry. After clicking here, scroll down and choose “Urdu Poetry Readings” to view the presentation.

The Hamoodur Rahman Commission Report was produced following Pakistan's investigation of the events between March 1971 and December 1971 in Bangladesh. A site dedicated to the history of Pakistan offers detail about the creation of the report.

Citizens of Bangladesh consider the actions of the Pakistan Army during the 1971 conflict to be genocide. There are many links on the Virtual Bangladesh website available to further explore Bangladesh's journey to independence.


More Interesting Links:

  • Browse BookBrowse member reviews of A Golden Age.
  • An interview with Tahmima Anam in the Guardian newspaper.
  • An article about Anam in the Telegraph.
  • Another article about Anam from Bangladesh publication SLATE.
  • For those who like to fully immerse themselves in their reading - recipes for Bangladeshi dishes!

Article by Stacey Brownlie

This "beyond the book article" relates to A Golden Age. It originally ran in January 2008 and has been updated for the January 2009 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.