Excerpt from Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ginny Moon

by Benjamin Ludwig

Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig X
Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2017, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2017, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


I grab the napkin tight and close my eyes. "If you make it stop I'll ask for help all the time," I say and then I open them again.

"I'll go have a look," my Forever Dad says. He stands up. When he walks past me I recoil. Then I see that he isn't Gloria. He looks at me funny and walks into the hallway. I hear him open the door to my room. The crying gets louder again.

"I don't know if this idea is working," my Forever Mom says. "We wanted you to see what it was like to have a real baby in the house, but this is not turning out like we planned."

In my bedroom the crying gets as loud as it can get. My Forever Dad comes back out again. One of his hands is in his hair.

"She put it in her suitcase," he says.

"What?"

"I had to follow the sound. I didn't see it anywhere at first. She crammed it in there with a bunch of blankets and stuffed animals, zipped it shut and then forced it back under her bed," he says.

"Ginny, why would you do a thing like that?" my Forever Mom says.

"It wouldn't stop crying," I say.

"Yes, but—" My Forever Dad interrupts her. "Look, it's going to drive us all nuts if we don't put an end to this. I tried to make it stop, but I couldn't do it, either. I think it's at the point of no return. Let's just call Mrs. Winkleman."

Mrs. Winkleman is the health teacher.

"She said she gave the emergency phone number to Ginny this morning," my Forever Mom says. "It's on a piece of paper. Check in her backpack."

He walks into the hall and opens the door to my bedroom again. I cover my ears. He comes out holding my backpack. My Forever Mom finds the paper and takes out her phone. "Mrs. Winkleman?" I hear her say. "Yes, this is Ginny's mom. I'm sorry to call so late, but I'm afraid we're having a problem with the baby."

"Don't worry, Forever Girl," my Forever Dad says to me. "This will all be over in a few minutes, and then you can get ready for bed. I'm sorry this is so intense and nerve-racking. We really thought—"

My Forever Mom puts the phone down. "She says there's a hole in the back of its neck. You have to put a paper clip into the hole to touch a button and shut it off."

He goes into the office and then he comes out again and walks down the hall into my bedroom. I start counting. When I get to twelve the crying stops. And now I can breathe again.

  • 1
  • 2

Excerpted from Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig. Copyright © 2017 by Benjamin Ludwig. Excerpted by permission of Park Row Books. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Special Olympics

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher


    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.