BookBrowse Reviews Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ginny Moon

by Benjamin Ludwig

Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig X
Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2017, 368 pages
    Dec 2017, 384 pages

  • Rate this book

Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book



The uniquely candid voice of Ginny Moon takes the reader into the mind of a curious and deeply human character.

In the tradition of Mark Haddon's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Benjamin Ludwig's Ginny Moon gives us a novel written from the perspective of a child with autism.

Fourteen-year-old Ginny faces many challenges in life; not only is she autistic, but she was starved and beaten by her drug-abusing mother and subsequently removed from her home at the age of nine. She's been placed in at least three "forever homes," and has run away from each. Her current "forever parents" adopted her because they couldn't get pregnant at the time but eventually did conceive and now have an infant of their own. This places a new stress on their relationship with Ginny.  Although her adopted parents attempt to help her have a normal life (e.g., helping her participate on a Special Olympics basketball team and taking her to flute lessons) she ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today

Member Login

Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Special Olympics

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Winter
    by Ali Smith
    "God was dead; to begin with." This first sentence of Winter perfectly sets up the dreamy journey ...
  • Book Jacket: A Land of Permanent Goodbyes
    A Land of Permanent Goodbyes
    by Atia Abawi

    When you're a refugee, everyone has lost, at least for the time being... And the journey ...

  • Book Jacket: Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions
    Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions
    by Mario Giordano
    Munich matron and self-described worldly sophisticate, Isolde Oberreiter, has decided to retire to a...
  • Book Jacket: Eat the Apple
    Eat the Apple
    by Matt Young
    Truth is stranger than fiction. Matt Young's memoir tackles the space in between truth and ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions
    by Mario Giordano

    A charming, bighearted novel starring Auntie Poldi, Sicily's newest amateur sleuth.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Anatomy of a Miracle
    by Jonathan Miles

    A profound novel that offers a stunning exploration of faith, science, mystery, and the meaning of life.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Balcony

The Balcony
by Jane Delury

A century-spanning novel-in-stories of a French village brimming with compassion, natural beauty, and unmistakable humanity.


Word Play

Solve this clue:

One N U G

and be entered to win..

Books that     

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.