BookBrowse Reviews Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ginny Moon

by Benjamin Ludwig

Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig X
Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2017, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2017, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The uniquely candid voice of Ginny Moon takes the reader into the mind of a curious and deeply human character.

In the tradition of Mark Haddon's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Benjamin Ludwig's Ginny Moon gives us a novel written from the perspective of a child with autism.

Fourteen-year-old Ginny faces many challenges in life; not only is she autistic, but she was starved and beaten by her drug-abusing mother and subsequently removed from her home at the age of nine. She's been placed in at least three "forever homes," and has run away from each. Her current "forever parents" adopted her because they couldn't get pregnant at the time but eventually did conceive and now have an infant of their own. This places a new stress on their relationship with Ginny.  Although her adopted parents attempt to help her have a normal life (e.g., helping her participate on a Special Olympics basketball team and taking her to flute lessons) she ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Special Olympics

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Vita Nostra
    Vita Nostra
    by Marina and Sergey Dyachenko
    Vita Nostra by Ukrainian authors Sergey and Marina Dyachenko is one of those novels that defies ...
  • Book Jacket: And The Ocean Was Our Sky
    And The Ocean Was Our Sky
    by Patrick Ness
    Patrick Ness has developed a reputation for experimental literature executed well, and his latest, ...
  • Book Jacket: Let It Bang
    Let It Bang
    by RJ Young
    Every interracial love story is an exercise in complications. R.J. Young and Lizzie Stafford's ...
  • Book Jacket: A Spark of Light
    A Spark of Light
    by Jodi Picoult
    The central premise of A Spark of Light involves a gunman holding hostages within the confines of a ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Unsheltered
by Barbara Kingsolver

A timely novel that explores the human capacity for resiliency and compassion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Kinship of Secrets
    by Eugenia Kim

    Two sisters grow up bound by family but separated by war; inspired by a true story.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Paris Echo
    by Sebastian Faulks

    A story of resistance, complicity, and an unlikely, transformative friendship.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Severance

Severance by Ling Ma

An offbeat, wryly funny, apocalyptic satire that is featured on more than twenty 2018 "Must Read" lists!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I Ain't O U T F L S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.