BookBrowse Reviews Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ginny Moon

by Benjamin Ludwig

Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig X
Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2017, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2017, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The uniquely candid voice of Ginny Moon takes the reader into the mind of a curious and deeply human character.

In the tradition of Mark Haddon's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Benjamin Ludwig's Ginny Moon gives us a novel written from the perspective of a child with autism.

Fourteen-year-old Ginny faces many challenges in life; not only is she autistic, but she was starved and beaten by her drug-abusing mother and subsequently removed from her home at the age of nine. She's been placed in at least three "forever homes," and has run away from each. Her current "forever parents" adopted her because they couldn't get pregnant at the time but eventually did conceive and now have an infant of their own. This places a new stress on their relationship with Ginny.  Although her adopted parents attempt to help her have a normal life (e.g., helping her participate on a Special Olympics basketball team and taking her to flute lessons) she nevertheless does all she can to return to her birth mom, in spite of her love for her new sibling.  The mystery of what exactly compels Ginny to return to her former home comprises much of the novel.

It's been a long time since I've read a first-person novel that made me care so much about the protagonist. Many books in recent years have featured young narrators in challenging circumstances, but Ginny Moon is absolutely one of the better written and most interesting of its type. Benjamin Ludwig has created a remarkable character in Ginny, making her realistic and completely bringing readers into her world. I experienced her frustration first-hand when she was unable to convey her inner fears to those who care about her. Her pain became my own and I wanted to hug her and explain her thoughts and feelings to those who just don't understand her. 

One of the book's strongest features is how the author helps us view Ginny's parents, therapist, friends and teachers with a degree of clarity that eludes her because she is unable to pick up on the cues that most of us take into account during social interactions. Although Ginny doesn't understand how her actions impact those around her, readers readily grasp their exasperation through Ginny's own descriptions.  I wanted to step into several scenes and play mediator between the parties involved, feeling like I was the only one perceiving each side's point-of-view. I think it's a rare novel that can elicit this kind of reaction from a reader, particularly when the story is narrated from a single point of view.

The plot, too, is intriguing and creative. On a few occasions, just when I felt that Ginny Moon was starting to lag or become predictable, the action took an unexpected but credible new direction, pulling me back into the narrative and keeping me hooked throughout. I was constantly on the edge of my seat as Ginny made decisions that were completely logical to her but that would obviously have negative repercussions for her down the road.

Some readers may have concerns that, given Ginny's history, the book could be dark or disturbing; this is not the case by any means, and it is, in fact, quite uplifting overall.  Although Ginny makes passing references to the abuse she suffered at the hands of her birth-mother, this is not dwelled on or described in-depth. One knows very bad things have happened to her but that's not the point of the book, other than to make it clear why she was removed from her home and, oddly, why she's so desperate to get back to it in spite of being in a safe and loving environment.

Benjamin Ludwig completely captures his young protagonist, and as a result Ginny Moon is without doubt one of the finest novels I've read all year. I whole-heartedly recommend it for a wide audience, including young adult readers; book groups in particular will find much material for discussion.

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review was originally published in December 2017, and has been updated for the December 2017 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Special Olympics

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Red Birds
    by Mohammed Hanif
    Mohmmed Hanif's Red Birds is part Catch-22, part Slaughterhouse-Five, part Kafka's The Castle, and ...
  • Book Jacket: Endeavour
    Endeavour
    by Peter Moore
    Miriam-Webster defines a biography as "a usually written history of a person's life." One might ...
  • Book Jacket: On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous
    On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous
    by Ocean Vuong
    On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous, the bold and bracing debut novel by acclaimed poet Ocean Vuong, ...
  • Book Jacket: Daisy Jones & The Six
    Daisy Jones & The Six
    by Taylor Jenkins Reid
    In this evocative novel written in the format of an interview with members of a fictional music ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Patsy
    by Nicole Dennis-Benn

    A haunting depiction of immigration and womanhood, and the silent threads of love.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Travelers
    by Helon Habila

    A startlingly exploration of the African diaspora in Europe, by an acclaimed international writer.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Guest Book

The Guest Book
by Sarah Blake

"An American epic in the truest sense."
—Entertainment Weekly

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

M I Haste, R A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.