Excerpt from Genuine Fraud by E Lockhart, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Genuine Fraud

by E Lockhart

Genuine Fraud by E Lockhart X
Genuine Fraud by E Lockhart
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2017, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2019, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Michelle Anya Anjirbag
Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Excerpt
Genuine Fraud

It was a bloody great hotel.

The minibar in Jule's room stocked potato chips and four different chocolate bars. The bathtub had bubble jets. There was an endless supply of fat towels and liquid gardenia soap. In the lobby, an elderly gentleman played Gershwin on a grand piano at four each afternoon. You could get hot clay skin treatments, if you didn't mind strangers touching you. Jule's skin smelled like chlorine all day.

The Playa Grande Resort in Baja had white curtains, white tile, white carpets, and explosions of lush white flowers. The staff members were nurselike in their white cotton garments. Jule had been alone at the hotel for nearly four weeks now. She was eighteen years old.

This morning, she was running in the Playa Grande gym.

She wore custom sea-green shoes with navy laces. She ran without music. She had been doing intervals for nearly an hour when a woman stepped onto the treadmill next to her.

This woman was younger than thirty. Her black hair was

in a tight ponytail, slicked with hair spray. She had big arms and a solid torso, light brown skin, and a dusting of powdery blush on her cheeks. Her shoes were down at the heels and spattered with old mud.

No one else was in the gym.

Jule slowed to a walk, figuring to leave in a minute. She liked privacy, and she was pretty much done, anyway.

"You training?" the woman asked. She gestured at Jule's digital readout. "Like, for a marathon or something?" The accent was Mexican American. She was probably a New Yorker raised in a Spanish-speaking neighborhood.

"I ran track in secondary school. That's all." Jule's own speech was clipped, what the British call BBC English.

The woman gave her a penetrating look. "I like your accent," she said. "Where you from?"

"London. St. John's Wood."

"New York." The woman pointed to herself.

Jule stepped off the treadmill to stretch her quads.

"I'm here alone," the woman confided after a moment. "Got in last night. I booked this hotel at the last minute. You been here long?"

"It's never long enough," said Jule, "at a place like this." "So what do you recommend? At the Playa Grande?" Jule didn't often talk to other hotel guests, but she saw no harm in answering. "Go on the snorkel tour," she said. "I saw a bloody huge moray eel." "No kidding. An eel?"

"The guide tempted it with fish guts he had in a plastic milk jug. The eel swam out from the rocks. She must have been eight feet long. Bright green."

The woman shivered. "I don't like eels." "You could skip it. If you scare easy."

The woman laughed. "How's the food? I didn't eat yet." "Get the chocolate cake."

"For breakfast?"

"Oh, yeah. They'll bring it to you special, if you ask." "Good to know. You traveling alone?"

"Listen, I'm gonna jet," said Jule, feeling the conversation had turned personal. "Cheerio." She headed for the door.

"My dad's crazy sick," the woman said, talking to Jule's back. "I've been looking after him for a long time." A stab of sympathy. Jule stopped and turned.

"Every morning and every night after work, I'm with him," the woman went on. "Now he's finally stable, and I wanted to get away so badly I didn't think about the price tag. I'm blowing a lot of cash here I shouldn't blow."

"What's your father got?"

"MS," said the woman. "Multiple sclerosis? And dementia. He used to be the head of our family. Very macho. Strong in all his opinions. Now he's a twisted body in a bed. He doesn't even know where he is half the time. He's, like, asking me if I'm the waitress."

"Damn."

"I'm scared I'm gonna lose him and I hate being with him, both at the same time. And when he's dead and I'm an orphan, I know I'm going to be sorry I took this trip away from him, d'you know?" The woman stopped running and put her feet on either side of the treadmill. She wiped her eyes with the back of her hand. "Sorry. Too much information."

  • 1
  • 2

Excerpt copyright © 2017 by E. Lockhart. Published by Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children's Books, a division of Penguin Random House LLC, New York.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.