MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Unreliable Narrators and Ourselves: Background information when reading Genuine Fraud

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Genuine Fraud

by E Lockhart

Genuine Fraud by E Lockhart X
Genuine Fraud by E Lockhart
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2017, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2019, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Michelle Anya Anjirbag
Buy This Book

About this Book

Unreliable Narrators and Ourselves

This article relates to Genuine Fraud

Print Review

Unreliable NarratorAmerican literary critic Wayne C. Booth coined the term "unreliable narrator" in 1961 in his most famous book, The Rhetoric of Fiction, and the concept was later refined by Hamilton College professor and narrative theorist Peter J. Rabinowitz: whether it is clear from the outset or revealed at the end, the unreliable narrator causes readers to question what they have read, and to reevaluate the message of the text. This may sound counterproductive, but sometimes, by not being able to fully trust in the world they become invested in, readers can explore the themes of the text more deeply – precisely because the validity of what is presented has to be questioned.

Without question, Jule – in E. Lockhart's Genuine Fraud – is an unreliable narrator, and studying her is a great way to truly get a sense of the literary device. The more we learn about Jule and her motivations, the less we can trust what she is saying and the less we believe the ways she reads the other characters in the novel. But that is also what makes the novel interesting – the unreliable narrator that simultaneously shapes and skews the reader's view of the text. What is almost most satisfying is that readers never know if Jule's unreliability is the result of calculated manipulation or something undiagnosed, but it almost doesn't matter. The darkest realization for readers is connecting with a truly unredeemable villain, which shows how an unreliable narrator can force someone to question his or her presumptions of what right and wrong are. Where at first readers are led to believe that Jule is the victim in some way, by the end of the novel they are stuck grappling with feelings of both empathy toward a girl with no options, searching for a way out of her own desperate situation, and disgust for the manipulation and violence that has been committed along the way.

Most importantly, beyond grappling with Jule's actions; readers have to reconcile their disgust – as more information comes to light – with the empathy and almost pity first felt towards Jule. She manipulates her surroundings, carefully hiding her secrets, but before readers see that, they see a strong but lonely young woman, perhaps, even in some ways, a reflection of themselves. This is the real power of unreliable narrators – we see ourselves in them before being forced to contend with their flaws, and that causes us to also contend with our own flawed presentation, as well as that of human nature.

Image courtesy of nownovel.com

This "beyond the book article" relates to Genuine Fraud. It originally ran in September 2017 and has been updated for the May 2019 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Dredging in Swann
    A Dredging in Swann
    by Tim Garvin
    A Dredging in Swann, set in fictional Swann County, North Carolina, centers around fresh-out-of-the-...
  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.