Excerpt from 100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

100 Sideways Miles

by Andrew Smith

100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith X
100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2014, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Sep 2015, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Cade Hernandez used the money he earned to buy cans of chewing tobacco, and we joked that Monica Fassbinder's obses¬sion with giving Cade hand jobs was a win-win proposition as long as they never got caught.

They never did get caught, and that was where the nickname came from.

Cade was always in a good mood.

Cade Hernandez always had plenty of tobacco, too. Win-Win Hernandez earned a steady income of about thirty dollars a week from Monica's hand jobs.

Monica Fassbinder caused Cade Hernandez to free a lot of his atoms in the night-custodian's shed.

My father bristles around Cade, avoids him as much as possible. But I think Cade has magical spell-casting beams or something that he can fire from his eyes, because I'd never seen a girl—my stepmother and sister included—who didn't think Cade Hernandez was endlessly adorable, even if he did things such as openly announce the frequency and stubbornness of his erections.

Some guys have all the luck.

Win. Win.


When we finished our pizza, Cade asked me, "How much is five euros in dollars?"

"Um."

I tried to ignore his question. I sucked Coke through a barber-striped plastic straw and stared out the windshield of Cade's truck.

"I'm serious," he continued. "Monica gave me five euros today. We did it right before lunch. I just want to make sure she's not taking advantage of me."

I nearly choked on my soda.

Nobody would want a girl like Monica Fassbinder to take advantage of poor Cade Hernandez. "You can't spend euros at a 7-Eleven," I countered.

Every day, we'd stop at 7-Eleven before heading back to school for seventh-period baseball. Even though the season was over for us, we still had to show up to practice.

Also, nobody wants a truancy ticket for skipping a class that you don't have to go to.

"Well duh, Finn. I know that," Cade said.

"Um. Five euros is a pay raise for you, Cade."

Cade Hernandez nodded and grinned. "Oh yeah, baby."

I was simultaneously embarrassed and deeply envious of my friend. I had never even held a girl's hand before, and suddenly I was a twenty-miles-per-second angry hornet's nest of hormones, unable to think of anything else except how I might be able to finally orchestrate an opportunity to at least talk to a girl before the earth moved another foot, another inch, through space.

Like that was ever going to happen.

Excerpted from 100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith. Copyright © 2014 by Andrew Smith. Excerpted by permission of Simon & Schuster. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Carolina Moonset
by Matt Goldman
An engrossing novel about family, memories and secrets too dangerous to stay hidden.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Good Husbands
    by Cate Ray

    Three wives, one letter, and an explosive secret that will change everything.
    He said, she said. Who do you believe?

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.