William Mulholland and the St. Francis Dam: Background information when reading 100 Sideways Miles

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

100 Sideways Miles

by Andrew Smith

100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith X
100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2014, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2015, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
William Mulholland and the St. Francis Dam

Print Review

William Mulholland"Self-taught civil engineers are probably as trustworthy as self-taught brain surgeons and self-taught airline pilots," thinks Finn to himself in 100 Sideways Miles. He's thinking about William Mulholland, the engineer better known today as the namesake for Mulholland Drive, home to many famous actors and musicians and the inspiration for the movie of the same name by David Lynch, who once said the road carried "the history of Hollywood."

The road was opened in 1924, but the real-life incident that consumes much of Finn's attention, and that ultimately led to the end of Mulholland's career, happened in 1928. Mulholland was born in Ireland in 1855 and moved to Los Angeles in 1877. There he took odd jobs digging wells, prospecting for gold, and laying water pipeline, the work that would eventually lead this self-taught engineer to becoming Los Angeles's water superintendent, overseeing a series of pipelines, aqueducts, and dams that would make Los Angeles a viable and prosperous city in the early twentieth century.

St. Francis Dam in 1926But Mulholland's lack of expertise may have begun to show as early as 1918, when a dam that Mulholland oversaw partially collapsed, fortunately with no major consequences. That was not the case in 1928, however, when the St. Francis Dam collapsed, destroying hydroelectric Powerhouse Number Two and killing 64 of the 67 workmen and their families who lived downriver from the dam, as well as hundreds of others in communities downstream. Just twelve hours earlier, Mulholland and his assistant had inspected the dam and declared it safe. Mulholland resigned from his position a year later.

St. Francis Dam in 1928The dam construction and related projects were part of what's become known as the California Water Wars, as Los Angeles's demand for water threatened to decimate the agricultural lands surrounding it. Fictionalized in the movie Chinatown, the Water Wars are still relevant today as California and much of the western United States face chronic drought conditions. Mulholland and others like him cut deadly corners in their attempts to meet southwestern cities' demand for water.

Photo of William Mulholland, courtesy of James W. Bledsoe
St. Francis Dam in 1926, courtesy of H. T. Stearns
St. Francis Dam in 1928, after it failed, courtesy of Los Angeles Public Library

Article by Norah Piehl

This article was originally published in September 2014, and has been updated for the September 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.