William Mulholland and the St. Francis Dam: Background information when reading 100 Sideways Miles

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

100 Sideways Miles

by Andrew Smith

100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith X
100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2014, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2015, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

William Mulholland and the St. Francis Dam

This article relates to 100 Sideways Miles

Print Review

William Mulholland"Self-taught civil engineers are probably as trustworthy as self-taught brain surgeons and self-taught airline pilots," thinks Finn to himself in 100 Sideways Miles. He's thinking about William Mulholland, the engineer better known today as the namesake for Mulholland Drive, home to many famous actors and musicians and the inspiration for the movie of the same name by David Lynch, who once said the road carried "the history of Hollywood."

The road was opened in 1924, but the real-life incident that consumes much of Finn's attention, and that ultimately led to the end of Mulholland's career, happened in 1928. Mulholland was born in Ireland in 1855 and moved to Los Angeles in 1877. There he took odd jobs digging wells, prospecting for gold, and laying water pipeline, the work that would eventually lead this self-taught engineer to becoming Los Angeles's water superintendent, overseeing a series of pipelines, aqueducts, and dams that would make Los Angeles a viable and prosperous city in the early twentieth century.

St. Francis Dam in 1926But Mulholland's lack of expertise may have begun to show as early as 1918, when a dam that Mulholland oversaw partially collapsed, fortunately with no major consequences. That was not the case in 1928, however, when the St. Francis Dam collapsed, destroying hydroelectric Powerhouse Number Two and killing 64 of the 67 workmen and their families who lived downriver from the dam, as well as hundreds of others in communities downstream. Just twelve hours earlier, Mulholland and his assistant had inspected the dam and declared it safe. Mulholland resigned from his position a year later.

St. Francis Dam in 1928The dam construction and related projects were part of what's become known as the California Water Wars, as Los Angeles's demand for water threatened to decimate the agricultural lands surrounding it. Fictionalized in the movie Chinatown, the Water Wars are still relevant today as California and much of the western United States face chronic drought conditions. Mulholland and others like him cut deadly corners in their attempts to meet southwestern cities' demand for water.

Photo of William Mulholland, courtesy of James W. Bledsoe
St. Francis Dam in 1926, courtesy of H. T. Stearns
St. Francis Dam in 1928, after it failed, courtesy of Los Angeles Public Library

Filed under People, Eras & Events

Article by Norah Piehl

This "beyond the book article" relates to 100 Sideways Miles. It originally ran in September 2014 and has been updated for the September 2015 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join & Save $10!

Discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten. One-year membership: $29

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Book Collectors
    The Book Collectors
    by Delphine Minoui
    About halfway through The Book Collectors, I was disappointed. I came into the book with a ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...
  • Book Jacket: My Heart Underwater
    My Heart Underwater
    by Laurel Fantauzzo
    Corazon — Cory — Tagubio is a Filipina-American teenager living with her family in ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Sun
    Black Sun
    by Rebecca Roanhorse
    Reading the first book in a series is always difficult because readers know that, by definition, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.