Excerpt from Wake by Anna Hope, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Wake

by Anna Hope

Wake
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Feb 2014, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


The soulful, gorgeous trumpet has faded now, and the band is picking up again, the music moving into a rag, a one- step.

One- two, one- two.

The floor is filling, people pressing all around them, cheering, clapping, stamping the music back into life.

One- two, one- two.

He steps toward her.

Hettie steps back. And it's there; it's in that first tiny movement— the flash of recognition. Yes! The rare feeling she gets when someone knows how to move. Then the music crashes in, and they are dancing together across the floor.

"Good band tonight," he says, over the music. "American. I like the Americans."

"Me, too."

"Oh?" He raises an eyebrow. "Who've you seen, then?"

"The Original Dixies."

"The Dixies? Damn." He looks impressed. "They were the best." He puts his leg between hers as he goes for the spin. "Where'd you see them?"

"The Palais. Hammersmith." She comes back to face him.

"Really? I went there once— saw them there, too!" He looks eager suddenly, like a boy.

Hettie considers this, wonders if they danced near each other. They definitely didn't dance together. She'd have remembered.

"What was your favorite number, then?" he says.

She laughs; that's easy. " 'Tiger Rag.' "

" 'Tiger Rag'!" He grins. "Crikey. That one's dangerous. So damn fast."

The fastest of all. Even she used to get out of breath.

"What was he called?" His face creases. "That trumpeter— Nick something or other."

"LaRocca."

Nick LaRocca— the world- famous trumpeter from New York. He used to make the girls go barmy. He'd smiled at her once, in the drafty backstage corridor: Hey, kid! he said, and winked as he was doing up his bow tie. She's had his picture above her bed ever since.

"LaRocca! That's it." He looks delighted. "Crazy man. Played like a lunatic."

They are on the edge of the dance floor now, where the noise isn't quite so loud. "So, then," he says, "tell me. An anarchist with a love for American jazz."

"But I'm not— " Their eyes catch, and something passes between them, a silent understanding. This is all a game.

"What's your cover?" he says, leaning close— close enough for her to smell the whiskey on his breath.

"Cover?"

"Day job."

"Oh, it's dancing. At the Palais. I'm a dance instructress there." "Good cover." He smiles, then his forehead creases again, as though he's remembering something. "Not in that awful metal box thing, are you?"

She nods, feels the familiar wince of shame. "Afraid so, yes."

"Poor you."

The Pen. That awful metal box. Where she and Di sit, trapped, along with ten other girls, till they are hired, while the men without partners shark up and down, deciding if they want you, if you are worth their sixpence for a turn around the floor.

He leans back, as though to see her better. "You don't look like the sort of girl who's for hire."

Is he making fun of her again? It could be a compliment, but she can't be sure.

"I'm Ed, by the way," he says. "Terribly rude of me. Should have introduced myself before."

She hesitates.

"Right, then," he says with a grin. "You can tell me your name when I get the thumbscrews out later."

She laughs. The dance is almost finished. Over his shoulder she can see Gus standing on the edge of the floor, staring out at them forlornly, two drinks in his hands, and as the music comes to its close she is clumsy suddenly, aware of her body, of the parts where it is close to Ed's. She takes her hands down, steps back.

Excerpted from Wake by Anna Hope. Copyright © 2014 by Anna Hope. Excerpted by permission of Random House. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.