The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier: Background information when reading Wake

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Wake

by Anna Hope

Wake by Anna Hope X
Wake by Anna Hope
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2014, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2016, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker
Buy This Book

About this Book

The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

This article relates to Wake

Print Review

Photograph of the replica coffin of Britain's Unknown Soldier by Hugh NightingaleWhen English clergyman Reverend David Railton spied a British grave marked "Unmarked British Soldier" in 1916, he developed the idea for a national war memorial. It would take until 1920, however, for his idea to come to fruition, but this proved to be the perfect time. Two years after the end of World War I there were still tens of thousands of dead British soldiers unidentified. Feelings of despair and disbelief over the atrocities of the war plagued many people in Britain. The wives and parents of soldiers who were still unaccounted for did not have any place or any thing tangible to grieve. The tomb of the Unknown Soldier was designed to provide a place for their grief and healing.

Photograph of the Unknown Soldier in France by Michael ReeveThe process of choosing the corpse to reside in the special tomb followed a specific procedure. Unidentified bodies, taken at random, from burial sites at four different battlefields - Aisne, Somme, Ypres, and Arras - were laid out on top of Union Jacks (the British flag). There were rumors that the General in charge of the selection made his choice blindfolded, a tale that appealed to the public. The idea that the soldier could be anyone - a laborer, a Duke's son, a worker from a Commonwealth nation such as South Africa - provided a democratic element to a country often beset by class.

The chosen body was placed in a coffin hewn from an oak at Hampton Court Palace. On the exterior was inscribed "A British Warrior who fell in the Great War 1914-1918 for King and Country." The other three bodies were reverently buried. The coffin was then transported to London where it was placed in the Cenotaph, the new war memorial in Whitehall. The grave was filled with soil from France. On November 11, 1920 - exactly two years to the day after the war ended - the burial of the Unknown Soldier was observed. 1,250,000 people visited the site in the first week.

Photograph of the Tomb of the Unknown Revolutionary War Soldier in PhiladelphiaThis symbolic act, commemorating the heroism of a country's soldiers and providing the citizenry with a focus for their grief, has been mirrored by other countries, including the United States, Iraq, Poland, and France, around the world.

Photograph of the replica coffin of Britain's Unknown Soldier by Hugh Nightingale.
Photograph of the Unknown Soldier in France by Michael Reeve.
Photograph of the Tomb of the Unknown Revolutionary War Soldier in Philadelphia by Bovineone on en.wikipedia.

This "beyond the book article" relates to Wake. It originally ran in March 2014 and has been updated for the October 2016 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.