The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier: Background information when reading Wake

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Wake

by Anna Hope

Wake by Anna Hope X
Wake by Anna Hope
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2014, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2016, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker
Buy This Book

About this Book

The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

This article relates to Wake

Print Review

Photograph of the replica coffin of Britain's Unknown Soldier by Hugh NightingaleWhen English clergyman Reverend David Railton spied a British grave marked "Unmarked British Soldier" in 1916, he developed the idea for a national war memorial. It would take until 1920, however, for his idea to come to fruition, but this proved to be the perfect time. Two years after the end of World War I there were still tens of thousands of dead British soldiers unidentified. Feelings of despair and disbelief over the atrocities of the war plagued many people in Britain. The wives and parents of soldiers who were still unaccounted for did not have any place or any thing tangible to grieve. The tomb of the Unknown Soldier was designed to provide a place for their grief and healing.

Photograph of the Unknown Soldier in France by Michael ReeveThe process of choosing the corpse to reside in the special tomb followed a specific procedure. Unidentified bodies, taken at random, from burial sites at four different battlefields - Aisne, Somme, Ypres, and Arras - were laid out on top of Union Jacks (the British flag). There were rumors that the General in charge of the selection made his choice blindfolded, a tale that appealed to the public. The idea that the soldier could be anyone - a laborer, a Duke's son, a worker from a Commonwealth nation such as South Africa - provided a democratic element to a country often beset by class.

The chosen body was placed in a coffin hewn from an oak at Hampton Court Palace. On the exterior was inscribed "A British Warrior who fell in the Great War 1914-1918 for King and Country." The other three bodies were reverently buried. The coffin was then transported to London where it was placed in the Cenotaph, the new war memorial in Whitehall. The grave was filled with soil from France. On November 11, 1920 - exactly two years to the day after the war ended - the burial of the Unknown Soldier was observed. 1,250,000 people visited the site in the first week.

Photograph of the Tomb of the Unknown Revolutionary War Soldier in PhiladelphiaThis symbolic act, commemorating the heroism of a country's soldiers and providing the citizenry with a focus for their grief, has been mirrored by other countries, including the United States, Iraq, Poland, and France, around the world.

Photograph of the replica coffin of Britain's Unknown Soldier by Hugh Nightingale.
Photograph of the Unknown Soldier in France by Michael Reeve.
Photograph of the Tomb of the Unknown Revolutionary War Soldier in Philadelphia by Bovineone on en.wikipedia.

This "beyond the book article" relates to Wake. It originally ran in March 2014 and has been updated for the October 2016 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.