Excerpt from I Shall Be Near To You by Erin Lindsay McCabe, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

I Shall Be Near To You

by Erin Lindsay McCabe

I Shall Be Near To You
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2014, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2014, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


I nod. Right before he goes in the door, he turns back and adds, with a shrug and a glint in his eye, 'But then, you can't be upset if it turns out I can't keep the news to myself.'

After Papa goes, we stand as close as we can get, looking everywhere but each other, like we are strangers, like there must be some new way of talking now everything is settled between us but we don't have the knack of it yet. When Papa's voice comes through the wall, rumbling too low to make out the words, Mama trills back like a bird and I don't need to hear what she's saying.

'She's pleased,' I say, and look at Jeremiah full on.

'And what about you?' he asks, a smile starting. 'You pleased too?'

I throw my arms right around him then, squeezing tight.

'What took you so long?' I ask, my ear to his chest, his heart pounding as loud as mine.

'That's all you got to say?' he says, and cocks his head to look down at me, the smile gone.

'I thought you weren't coming! I been waiting for near on three days now and—'

'You counting Sunday?'

I draw back. 'Course I'm counting Sunday. You didn't ask my Papa on Sunday, did you? Made me wait most the day Sunday, all day Monday, and now it's supper on Tuesday. That seems like something close to three days from my way of thinking.' Without my telling it, my hand has pulled free and got itself on my hip.

'It ain't so simple as just asking, Rosetta.' He reaches out, tickling at my hip, working to gather my hand back into his.

'No?' I say, and let him pry my fingers loose, closing them in his warm ones.

'No. There's arrangements that have got to be made. Like where we're going to live. How soon we can be living there. Getting Pastor Bowers' permission. I've been making arrangements these past two days.'

I ain't really thought about a thing except what I want, but it ain't for him to know that.

'So when are we getting married?'

'Unh-uh.' He shakes his head. 'You ain't answered my question, I ain't answering yours.'

'What question?'

'I asked if you was pleased.'

'Course I'm pleased! You think I'd be mad if I wasn't pleased?'

'You don't make a lick of sense,' he says, but he is smiling now and he takes a step closer to me.

I move into the circle his arms make. 'You ain't told me how soon we're getting married.'

'Pastor Bowers said he could marry us the Sunday after next,' he says into my hair.

'And where are we going to live?'

'On my family's farm,' he says. 'We've got my Ma and Pa's Little House, the one Pa built first.'

'We get our own place?'

'Course. I ain't bringing no new wife into my parents' house.'

'But—even when you're—' I can't finish saying it.

'Even when I'm away. You can live there. It's ours. 'Til we get our own farm,' he whispers, and kisses my forehead. It is a different kiss altogether from the one at the creek, 'til he cups my cheek in his hand and I raise my mouth to his. Only then Betsy bangs through the door and yells for supper like we ain't standing right in front of her.


Later, at supper, after Mama apologizes for not having something more special than beef soup and bread, she tells how Papa, only he was the farmhand then, showed up, knocking on Granpappy's door. How she pretended not to take notice of him, but she remembers him turning his hat round and round like a wagon wheel in his hand.

Excerpted from I Shall Be Near to You by Erin Lindsay McCabe Copyright © 2014. Excerpted by permission of Crown Trade, an imprint of the Crown Publishing Group, a division of Penguin Random House, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Rose O'Neale Greenhow

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.