Excerpt from Back to Blood by Tom Wolfe, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Back to Blood

by Tom Wolfe

Back to Blood by Tom Wolfe X
Back to Blood by Tom Wolfe
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2012, 608 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2013, 736 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judy Krueger

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Hey! Who are those two, just joining the cluster of Marine Patrol cops? They sure as hell don't look like cops. It turns out they are a reporter and a photographer from the Miami Herald. Nestor had never heard of a reporter coming all the way out here in the bay. The photographer was a swarthy little guy wearing some sort of safari jacket, pockets all over it, wide open. Nestor couldn't tell what he was… but there was no doubt about the reporter. He was a classic Americano, tall, thin, pale, wearing a navy blazer, a light-blue button-down shirt, khaki pants with freshly pressed creases down the front… very proper-looking. Over-the-top proper. Who ever heard of a newspaper reporter wearing a jacket in Miami? He was soft-spoken to the point of shy, this reporter. His name was John Smith, apparently. How much more Americano could you get?!

"I can't believe what you just did," said the classic americano. "I can't believe anyone could swing hand over hand down that thing holding another person between his legs. Where'd you get the strength? Do you lift weights—or what?"

Nestor had never spoken to a reporter before. Maybe he wasn't supposed to. He looked at Sergeant McCorkle. The Sergeant just smiled and gave him a slight wink, as if to say, "It's okay, go ahead and tell him."

That did it. Modestly enough, Nestor began, "I don't think it takes strength exactly." He tried to continue on the modest path—but he just couldn't tell the Americano enough. He didn't believe in weight-lifting for the upper body. It's much better to climb a, say, fifty-five-foot rope without using your legs. Takes care of everything, arms, back, chest—everything.

"Where do you do that?" said this John Smith.

"At Rodriguez's 'Ññññññooooooooooooo!!! Qué Gym!' they call it."

The americano laughed. "Como en 'Ññññññooooooooooooo!!! Que barata'?"

::::::This americano not only speaks Spanish—he must listen to Spanish radio! That's the only time you can hear the "Ññññññooooooooooooo!!! Que barata!" commercial.::::::

"Es verdad," said Nestor. That was a linguistic handshake for John Smith's speaking Spanish. "But you have to use weights and do squats and everything else for your legs. I don't know what you do for carrying some little guy like that with 'em… except try to avoid the whole thing." Light touch of modesty there… or self-mockery… or whatever. Nestor looked down, as if to check out his uniform. He tried to tell himself that what he was about to do was unconscious—which of course made it self-fraudulence per se.

"Dios mío," he said, "this shirt is soaking wet and fucking filthy! I can smell it." He looked at Umberto, as if this had nothing to do with the two guys from the Herald, and said, "Where's some dry shirts?"

"Dry shirts?" said Umberto. "I don't know, unless they keep them in…"

But Nestor had already stopped listening. He was busy pulling his wet shirt up and off his torso and his arms and his head, which involved lifting his arms almost straight up. He winced as if in pain. "Awwwguh! Hurts like a sonofabitch! I must a pulled something in my shoulders."

"That figures," said Umberto.

Just like that John Smith's swarthy little photographer had his camera up to his eyes and was pressing that button over and over.

Sergeant McCorkle stepped in and took Nestor by the elbow and pulled him away. "We got shirts inside, not at the Miami Herald. You know what I mean?"

He marched Nestor off at a good clip and pulled him close enough to say in a low voice, "You can talk to the press on the spot like this, as long as you don't talk strategy or policy. But not so you can show off your fucking physique. You know what I mean?"

Excerpted from Back to Blood by Tom Wolfe. Copyright © 2012 by Tom Wolfe. Excerpted by permission of Little Brown & Company. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Tom Wolfe

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.