Excerpt from Stealing Mona Lisa by Carson Morton, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Stealing Mona Lisa

A Mystery

by Carson Morton

Stealing Mona Lisa by Carson Morton X
Stealing Mona Lisa by Carson Morton
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2011, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2012, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Karen Rigby

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"There is nothing to be concerned about, I can assure you."

"I will need some time to think. Perhaps this was not such a good idea after all." Hart was talking more to himself than to any­one else.

Valfierno had to change the subject quickly. The last thing he wanted was for his client to dwell too much on the possible risks involved.

"I think you need to get your mind off it for a while," he said in his most soothing voice. "Evening is falling. The coolness in the air invites exploration of the city."

"You call this cool?" Hart said. "I can hardly breathe."

"Indeed," began Mrs. Hart in response to Valfierno, "we had spoken of perhaps a visit to the zoo." Her voice sounded hopeful but tentative.

"A magnificent idea," Valfierno said, grateful for the young woman's inadvertent help. "It remains open until at least seven, and the jaguar exhibit is not to be missed."

"My mother is quite looking forward to it, aren't you, Mother?"

The older woman gave only the slightest reaction, more to the touch of her daughter's hand than to her words.

Hart took notice of the women for the first time since exiting the museum. "Don't be absurd," he said, masking his irritation in a cloak of concern. "It's far too hot for that, and the streets are too dangerous at night. It's best that we go back to the hotel."

Mrs. Hart's lips parted slightly as if she was about to respond, but she said nothing.

Valfierno felt the sudden urge to support the young woman's wish.

"I can assure you," he said, "the streets are perfectly safe in this area."

"And who are you now?" Hart asked pointedly. "The mayor?"

Valfierno smiled, cocking his head slightly. "Not officially, no."

Valfierno was pleased to notice a brief smile flicker across Mrs. Hart's face.

"It's time to go," said Hart curtly, turning to his wife. "Come, dear." And without waiting for the women, he began striding across the plaza.

"Until the morning, Señor Hart," Valfierno called after him.

"I must think," Hart shot back with a dismissive wave of his hand. "I have to think."

Mrs. Hart acknowledged Valfierno with a slight nod before col­lecting her mother and following her husband.

Valfierno removed his hat. "Ladies," he said in farewell.

Hart and the two women were swallowed up by the crowds drawn out by the cooling evening. Taking a deep breath, Valfierno brought a white handkerchief up to his brow and allowed himself to sweat for the first time all afternoon.

Inside the gallery, the young maintenance man in the white blouse stood before Manet's La Ninfa Sorprendida. Checking one more time to make sure he was alone, he stepped forward and, with his left hand, tilted the bottom of the frame away from the wall. Reaching behind with his right hand, he applied pressure to the back of the canvas and pushed it up until he had exposed its bottom edge. Gripping it, he slowly pulled downward as if he were drawing a window blind closed. Bit by bit, he revealed a second painting, an identical copy, the one he had secured behind the original the evening be­fore. He tugged steadily until he had removed the second painting without disturbing the masterpiece still occupying its frame.

He let the frame swing back gently to the wall and started to roll up the copy, noting the initials "J.H." written on the back in stylized letters.

"Who closed this gallery?"

The sound of the authoritative voice startled him. It came from the direction of the gallery entrance hidden from this angle by the freestanding center wall. One of the museum guards, no doubt.

The echo of footsteps told the young man that he had only sec­onds left before discovery. With rapid wrist motions, he finished rolling up the copy. Slipping the cylinder beneath his long blouse, he walked briskly to the end of the gallery farthest from the en­trance. He turned the corner at the end of the center wall at the same time the guard turned the corner at the opposite end, so nei­ther one saw the other. Walking rapidly toward the gallery entrance, he matched his stride to the sound of the guard's footsteps coming from the opposite side of the wall.

From Stealing Mona Lisa by Carson Morton. Copyright © 2011 by the author and reprinted by permission of St. Martin’s Press, LLC.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  La Giaconde (The Mona Lisa)

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.