Excerpt from I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive by Steve Earle, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive

by Steve Earle

I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive by Steve Earle
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2011, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2012, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Marnie Colton

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Doc never emphatically denied the stories, especially when he was lonely.

He turned left at the liquor store, slipping around to the parking lot in back where Big Manny the Dope Man lounged against the fender of his car every morning serving the wake-up trade.

“Manny, my friend, can you carry me until about lunchtime? Just a taste so I can get straight.”

Big Manny was his handle, but in fact, big was simply too small a word to do the six-foot-five, two-hundred-and-eighty-odd-pound Mexican justice. Gargantuan would have been more accurate if anybody on South Presa besides Doc could have pronounced it, but everyone just called Manny Castro “Big Manny.” Doc shivered in the pusher’s immense shadow but Manny was shaking his head before Doc got the first word out.

“I don’ know, Doc. You still ain’t paid me for yesterday. ¡Me lleva la chingada! Fuckin’ Hugo!” He snatched a small paper sack from beneath the bumper of his car and lateraled it to a rangy youth loitering nearby. “¡Vamanos!” Manny coughed, and the kid took off like a shot across the parking lot and vanished over the fence.

The portly plainclothes cop never broke his stride, barely acknowledging the runner and producing no ID or warrant as he crossed the lot in a more or less direct line to where Manny, Doc, and a handful of loiterers were already turning around and placing their hands on the hood of Manny’s car.

Detective Hugo Ackerman rarely hurried even when attempting to catch a fleeing offender. He had worked narcotics for over a decade, and in his experience neither the junkies nor the pushers were going far. He caught up with everybody eventually. “That’s right, gentlemen, you know how the dance goes. Hands flat, legs spread. Anybody got any needles or knives, best you tell me now!”

He started with Manny, haphazardly frisking him from just below his knees up, about as far as Hugo could comfortably bend over. His three-hundred-pound mass was all the authority he needed to hold even a big man like Manny in place, leaving his chubby hands free to roam at will.

“How’s business, Manny. You know, I just come from Junior Trevino’s spot. He looked like he was doing pretty good to me.”

“Junior!” Manny snorted. “¡Pendejo! That shit he sells wouldn’t get a fly high, he steps on it so hard! Anybody that gets their dope from Junior’s either a baboso or they owe me money. Hey! You see Bobby Menchaca down there? I want to talk to that maricón.” When Hugo shoved his hand down the back of Manny’s slacks, the big man winced.

“Chingada madre, Hugo! Careful down there. My pistol’s in the glove box if that’s what you’re lookin’ for. Your envelope’s where it always is.”

“That’s Detective Ackerman to you, asshole!” Hugo continued to grope around, emptying Manny’s pockets onto the hood of the Ford and intentionally saving the inside of his sport coat for last and then pocketing the envelope he found there.

“Ain’t you heard? Bobby’s in the county. Been there since last Saturday. Fell through the roof of an auto-parts store he was breakin’ into over on the east side. I guess the doors were in better shape than the roof was ’cause he was still inside jackin’ with the latch when the radio car rolled up.” He patted the envelope he’d put into the breast pocket of his own sport coat.

“It all here?”

“Every fuckin’ dime.”

Doc was next.

“How about you, Doc? Got anything for me?” Doc half grinned. “As a matter of fact, Detective Ackerman, I regret that you catch me temporarily financially embarrassed. You usually don’t come around to see me until Sunday so I reckoned I had a day or two. Fact is I’m flat broke. Hell, I haven’t even had my wake-up yet.”

Excerpted from I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive by Steve Earle. Copyright © 2011 by Steve Earle. Excerpted by permission of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Hank Williams's Last Days

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Graybar Hotel
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins
    We – those of us on the outside – are lucky. So very lucky. We get to experience life &#...
  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.