Excerpt from I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive by Steve Earle, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive

by Steve Earle

I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2011, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2012, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Marnie Colton

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


“He ain’t lyin’, Detective.” Manny intervened. “I was just getting ready to send his broke ass down to Bobby.”

“Relax, relax, Doc. Just thought I’d ask while I had you, so to speak. I’ll see you Sunday, but damn, Manny! That’s cold! I reckoned Doc’s credit was better than that around here!” He patted Doc on the butt and turned and ambled back toward the street. “All right, then.” Halfway there, he turned around.

“Was that the Reyes kid? The one that took off with the pack?”

Manny shrugged. “Maybe.”

“Well, I’d count it twice when it comes back. He was showin’ tracks the last time I rousted him.”

“Yeah, right,” Manny muttered, but he made a mental note to check the kid’s arms when he got back. He and the others replaced their effects in their pockets, and as soon as Hugo was out of sight Manny stuck two fingers in his mouth and whistled loud enough that there could be no doubt that the runner would hear him.

“Pinche Hugo! ¡Cabrón!” Manny grumbled. “He leaves me alone ’cause I pay him but then he sits across the street in an unmarked car and picks off half my customers when they leave the spot. That shit’s bad for business!” He spat on the ground and threw in an extra “¡cabrón!” for good measure.

“Yeah,” Doc agreed. “The fat son of a bitch takes a fair bite out of my ass every week as well, not to mention the odd course of penicillin on the cuff. Then again, I guess he needs to make it look good... Hey, speakin’ of on the cuff, Manny, I know I owe you but... ”

At that moment the kid rounded the corner, huffing and puffing, and handed off the pack. Manny didn’t even look inside before grabbing the kid by the wrist and peeling his shirtsleeve back, up above his elbow, to reveal that Hugo hadn’t been lying. “¡Maricón!” he snarled as he backhanded the kid across the face with such ferocity that blood spurted instantly from both his nose and his mouth, and he tumbled backward in an awkward somersault. He skidded on the seat of his pants but he hadn’t even come to a full stop before he was up and gone.

“Don’t come back, Ramón!” Manny shouted after him. “And I’m gonna tell your mama!” He turned back to Doc, shaking his head. “I told you, Doc. I can’t carry every junkie on the south side that comes up short... ”

“Oh, ferchrissake, Manny. Tell me, have I ever let you down? When did I ever fail to pay a debt, to you or anybody you know! I can’t work in this condition. Besides, amigo, I wasn’t worryin’ about money when I was diggin’ that twenty-two slug out of your ass last year, now was I?”

“Oh, so that’s how it is, huh, Doc? All right, then. See how you do... ”

The bickering continued until the ritual was completed with an unintelligible grunt and a secret handshake, Manny pressing the little red balloon into the palm of Doc’s hand. Manny had known he was good for it all along. All the hemming and hawing was just for show, an oft-repeated performance for the benefit of any deadbeats standing within earshot. A businessman had his reputation to consider, after all.

The hardest part of the whole ordeal was the long haul back up the block, retracing the same steps on even heavier, shakier legs. He never carried his wake-up shot back to the boarding house in his pocket or his hatband anymore. Instead, he cupped the dope in the hollow of a clenched fist as if it were some magical winged creature that would vanish into thin air if allowed to escape. He could feel the balloon against his sweaty palm and sometimes he swore that he could taste the dope inside. By the time he got back to his room and cooked it up he had to fight back a wave of nausea, a Pavlovian response to the smell of sulfur and heated morphine. Tie the tourniquet, find the vein, pull the trigger...

Burnt sugar on the back of the tongue, tingling scalp, aches and pains evaporate, leaving only a whisper behind:

Excerpted from I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive by Steve Earle. Copyright © 2011 by Steve Earle. Excerpted by permission of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Hank Williams's Last Days

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.