Excerpt from A Pearl in the Storm by Tori Murden McClure, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Pearl in the Storm

How I Found My Heart in the Middle of the Ocean

by Tori Murden McClure

A Pearl in the Storm
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2009, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2010, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jo Perry

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


When I returned to rowing, I noticed a sport fishing boat alter course and head out toward me. A few minutes later, the boat came alongside. Two middle-aged men sat with beers in hand; one asked, "Are you the woman who’s trying to row across the Atlantic?" "Yes," I answered, pulling hard, trying to place some distance between our vessels.

"We just came over to tell you that you’re completely nuts."

As they zoomed off, leaving me in a cloud of engine exhaust, I considered the merits of their claim. That morning, a radio interviewer had thrust a microphone into my face and peppered me with one obnoxious question after another. He opened with "Why?" This is one of my least favorite questions. If someone approves of what you do, he will not ask you why you do it; no one says, "Doctor, why do you want to cure cancer?" With the question "why" comes a subtle accusation that one is doing something wrong. "Why" is not a simple question, and I couldn’t produce a simple answer, only simple evasions. The best evasion ever uttered came from George Leigh Mallory when he was asked, "Why do you want to climb Everest?" He answered, "Because it’s there."

Beginning my evasions, I responded to the interviewer with questions of my own: "Why does an acorn strive to become an oak?" "Why does a caterpillar lock itself into a cocoon before it becomes a butterfly?"

Either missing the point or choosing to ignore it, my inquisitor followed with a different question: "Why row a boat across the Atlantic when you can sail?"

"Why sail when you can fly?" was my return.

My inquisitor talked about the deprivation and the pain that I was letting myself in for. "Why do it?"

It was easy to see that this man prided himself on his intelligence. Sharing this fault, I looked him in the eye and answered, "The pathway to enlightenment is through the room with a thousand demons."

A look of surprise skidded across the interviewer’s face. His eyes widened, and for an instant he seemed to understand that my journey was not about rowing a boat from point A to point B. My goals were as intellectual as they were physical, and for one precious moment that interviewer seemed to understand.

Through solitude and exposure to uncertainty, I believed I would confront my demons. Beyond this confrontation, I expected to find a doorway to some higher intellectual awareness. Had I known the true nature of the demons I would duel, I never would have had the audacity to go looking for them. It was my first day; I was still blissful in my ignorance.

As the sun began to set, I watched seagulls and terns head back toward shore. A band of red splashed up from the western horizon, and streaks of orange, yellow, and purple striped the sky above. As the sunset faded, the light from the 156-foot tower of the Bodie Island Lighthouse served as the last reminder of civilization. I wanted to row until the curve of the ocean rose to extinguish this light, but I lost my duel with the lighthouse for the unglamorous reason that I was hungry.

Cheese enchilada ranchero was the first freeze-dried dinner in the stack of meals under the rowing deck. Ocean rowers, like high altitude mountaineers, need to consume between 4,000 and 5,000 calories a day to avoid losing muscle mass. Typically, this is about two pounds of food per day, but because I packed freeze-dried dinners, I was able to reduce the weight to about 150 pounds of food for the one hundred days.

Not only does freeze-dried food provide high caloric value at a minimum weight, but the packaging also "swims" well. No one had ever rowed across the North Atlantic without capsizing. My deck hatches were weathertight, but experience taught me that this did not mean waterproof. If the boat flipped upside down, water would get into my food compartments. Before the trip, I tested various food packages by running them through my washing machine. As I’ve said, freeze-dried food swims well; Hershey’s chocolate does not.

Excerpted from A Pearl in the Storm by Tori Murden McClure. Copyright © 2009 by Tori Murden McClure. Excerpted by permission of Collins, a division of HarperCollins, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.