Reading guide for A Pearl in the Storm by Tori Murden McClure

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Pearl in the Storm

How I Found My Heart in the Middle of the Ocean

by Tori Murden McClure

A Pearl in the Storm by Tori Murden McClure X
A Pearl in the Storm by Tori Murden McClure
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2009, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2010, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jo Perry

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

Introduction

"In the end," writes Tori McClure, "I know I rowed across the Atlantic to find my heart, but in the beginning, I wasn't aware that it was missing."

During June 1998, Tori McClure set out to row across the Atlantic Ocean by herself in a twenty-three-foot plywood boat with no motor or sail. Within days she lost all communication with shore, but nevertheless she decided to keep going. Not only did she lose the sound of a friendly voice, she lost updates on the location of the Gulf Stream and on the weather. Unfortunately for Tori, 1998 is still on record as the worst hurricane season in the North Atlantic. In deep solitude and perilous conditions, she was nonetheless determined to prove what one person with a mission can do. When she was finally brought to her knees by a series of violent storms that nearly killed her, she had to signal for help and go home in what felt like complete disgrace.

Back in Kentucky, however, Tori's life began to change in unexpected ways. She fell in love. At the age of thirty-five, she embarked on a serious relationship for the first time, making her feel even more vulnerable than sitting alone in a tiny boat in the middle of the Atlantic. She went to work for Muhammad Ali, who told her that she did not want to be known as the woman who "almost" rowed across the Atlantic Ocean. And she knew that he was right.

In this thrilling story of high adventure and romantic quest, Tori McClure discovers through her favorite way—the hard way—that the most important thing in life is not to prove you are superhuman but to fully embrace your own humanity. With a wry sense of humor and a strong voice, she gives us a true memoir of an explorer who maps her world with rare emotional honesty.


Questions for Discussion

  1. What does the title A Pearl in the Storm mean? What are the pearls Tori Murden McClure refers to?
  2. Humility, tenacity, courage, knowledge, pain, anger, despair, and hope are all themes of the book. How are they manifested individually in the story? How are they connected?
  3. The most common question about the trip asked was, "why do it?" Why did Tori want to row solo across the Atlantic? What was she seeking? What was lacking in her life before her journey?
  4. The author responded to critics with a question of her own. "How are we human beings to progress without testing our limits or going behind what is known?" How would you answer her?
  5. "I didn't expect the Atlantic to make me a better person. But I did expect the Atlantic to make me a wiser person," Tori writes. Did her journey make her wiser? Did she underestimate her expectations—did it make her a better person as well?
  6. What is your opinion of Tori? How would you describe her? Did your view of her change through the course of the book?
  7. Would Tori have come under such scrutiny for her ambitions if she'd been a man? Why is there still a double standard when it comes to the achievements of men and women? Do you think she is a good role model for both girls and boys?
  8. Talk about her childhood and her relationship with her brother Lamar. How did it shape her life and lead her to a solo venture across the Atlantic?
  9. Throughout the memoir, Tori speaks of "helplessness." Why is this so crucial to her? Why does she equate love with helplessness? How does her outlook evolve?
  10. Tori took a number of books, music, and even portraits of the presidents. Why did she choose these items? If you were to undertake a journey like this, what might you take?
  11. During the trip, the author listens to a lecture about Aristotle and ponders the relationship between courage and knowledge. "Aristotle believed that humanity is influenced more by fear than it is by faith." Do you agree with this? How do courage and knowledge relate to fear and faith?
  12. When Hurricane Danielle hit the American Pearl, Tori waited through horrendous conditions before finally setting off the emergency beacon. She could have died out there. Why did she wait so long?
  13. For months after the attempt, the author harbored shame for having "failed." Why do you think she so firmly held this opinion of herself? In your eyes, did she fail?
  14. When she decided to make a second attempt to cross the Atlantic, Tori vowed, "This time, things will be different." What was different about the second trip? How was she different?
  15. What impact did the journey across the Atlantic ultimately have on the author? What lessons did you take away from A Pearl in the Storm?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Harper. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.