Excerpt from Above The Thunder by Renée Manfredi, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Above The Thunder

by Renée Manfredi

Above The Thunder
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2004, 333 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2005, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"What?" Anna instinctively scanned the girl's body for bruises.

"He didn't want children, and he beat me to make them disappear. In the tummy."

"Oh," Anna said, still a little stunned by the notion of being a grandmother, awed by the presence of this lovely child. Anna put her hand up to her head. Her headache was starting to shake free, but the knots in her head had somehow coiled in her chest. Anna hadn't given much thought to the girl really; mostly she tried to imagine what she would say to Poppy after all these years.

Flynn was gorgeous, Anna noted, seeing a little bit of Hugh in the curve of her lips and jaw line, but mostly Flynn looked like the women on Anna's father's side: there was a spectacular resemblance to Anna's second cousin Ella. Ella was the seventh and favorite daughter of the baker in a little village outside Warsaw. Sixteen in 1939, she had picked up her father's new oven peel and was on her way to the shop that September morning when the blitzkrieg started. Ella rushed into burning homes and helped people to safety. Legend had it that she hit a German soldier over the head with the oven peel as he was getting ready to shoot a kneeling line of villagers who then escaped. Ella later died in the camps.

"My mother is mentally ill," Flynn said, clutching the cat tighter as he struggled to get down.

"No," Anna said, angry with Marvin for his apparent careless language.

"She's not." But then before she could stop herself she asked, "Has she left you before?"

"Certainly," Flynn said. "But this time she's not coming back."

"Only God knows such things," Anna said in a voice that was so much her grandmother's it made her head ache all over again.

"We've barely met," Flynn said, though Anna didn't know if it was a reference to herself, Poppy, or, given the peculiarity of this child, to God.

"What's the kitty's name?" Anna said.

"My parents are divorcing. They think I don't know this, but of course I do."

"Does the kitty have a name?"

"His name is Hoover McPaws. He just happens to be Irish."

"Oh, yes? I can see a certain Irish cast to his features."

Flynn looked back at her grandmother, smiled nervously. Something frightened her here. Her grandmother's look pierced through her like the prickly spines of a cactus. "I think you and I were gladiators together under the rule of Caesar Augustus."

"How old are you now, Flynn?"

"Ten. And you?"

"Fifty-three."

"My mother is thirty. Have you met her?"

"Yes. She's my daughter, the way you're her daughter."

"Oh, right." She shifted the cat, which was yowling now, pinned belly up against her knees. "Did she seem mentally ill to you?" Flynn let the cat had go with a gasp, sucked her finger where the cat had scratched her. "Because she was always a good mother until she left. She took very good care of me."

Anna heard her husband's tone in the girl's words, the bewilderment without a trace of anger at Poppy's behavior. "She said she would come," were his last words. "I hope nothing has happened." She couldn't have this girl here. Her very existence was a kind of reproach, the flaws in Poppy that led her to abandon her child were, really, Anna's failing as a parent. She'd buried the guilt long ago, and the last thing she needed was to have all the pain of attachment resurface.

Marvin came back in, straining under the weight of a huge trunk. "I hope you don't mind, Anna," he said. "I, uh, brought a little work with me."

"And just what sort of work do you do? Large-game taxidermy?" Already her house looked like a yard sale. Which she didn't care about, except there was something underhanded going on here, something neither he nor Poppy had respected her enough to tell her.

Excerpted from Above The Thunder by Renée Manfredi. Copyright 2004 by Renée Manfredi . Excerpted by permission of McAdam Cage. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.