Excerpt from Above The Thunder by Renée Manfredi, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Above The Thunder

by Renée Manfredi

Above The Thunder by Renée Manfredi X
Above The Thunder by Renée Manfredi
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2004, 333 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2005, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Are those the heads?" Flynn asked.

"Go get ready for bed, Flynn," Marvin said, breathing hard.

"Heads? What?" Anna said.

"Clay heads. Busts. I'm two-thirds of the way though casting. I'm not sure about the humidity levels in the bus, so I didn't want to leave them in there. Too much moisture and I lose the correct slip."

"Yeah, okay whatever," Anna said. She looked over at Flynn. "I have a bed all set up for you in the guest room."

"Go brush your teeth, Flynn," Marvin said.

Anna waited until she heard the water running in the bathroom then said, "What the hell is going on? What is all this?"

Marvin sighed, then pulled a bottle of vodka from his pocket, the same oversized trench coat she remembered him wearing all those years ago.

"Let's have a drink."

"No thank you," she said. "Look, I don't know what kind of game you're playing, mister, but I won't have it. You tell me straight out what you're doing here, or you can leave right now. I'm too old for this kind of crap."

He nodded. "It's late. Can we talk in the morning? I've been driving for sixteen straight days, mostly in circles looking for my wife. Okay?"

Anna didn't answer. Flynn reappeared in the living room.

"Bedtime, young lady," Marvin said.

"I have to feed Hoover," she said.

"I'll feed him," Marvin said.

"But I need to. He has a delicate stomach. He needs consistency."

Anna and Marvin both watched as Flynn took a pouch of cat food and a small bowl from her backpack, then watched, along with Flynn, the cat eating his dinner as though they'd never seen anything quite like it before.

All night long Anna lay awake. Flynn was in the guest bedroom, and Marvin had the foldout couch in the living room. Anna heard him get up numerous times, the front door opening and closing, the slam of the bus door outside.

Already it felt to her as if they'd been here years instead of hours.

Excerpted from Above The Thunder by Renée Manfredi. Copyright 2004 by Renée Manfredi . Excerpted by permission of McAdam Cage. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.