Excerpt from A Word A Day by Anu Garg, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Word A Day

A Romp through Some of the Most Unusual and Intriguing Words in English

by Anu Garg

A Word A Day
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Jan 2003, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Discover the Theme I

It is human nature to find patterns in things where there might be none, whether it is in the shape of clouds or in the arrangement of sand, in a chain of events, or in the digits of pi. Or in a list of words. What unites these words here in a common thread? You find out! Don your word-sleuth hat and discover the theme that weaves these words. Each word is another piece of the puzzle. Answer at the end of the chapter.



 

tessera (TESS-er-a) noun, plural tesserae
noun
A small piece of stone, glass, etc. used in making mosaic pattern.

This word comes to us from Greek tesseres, meaning "four," as in four corners of a piece used to create a mosaic pattern. From Latin, from Greek, neuter of tesseres, variant of tessares (four).

  • The kings delighted in playing chess on a giant checkerboard made of thousands of black and white tesserae, with live animals and people dressed as chess pieces standing on it for hours.



hypolimnion (hip-o-LIMN-ee-on)
noun
The lower layer of water in a lake that is stagnant and remains at a constant temperature.

From Greek hypo- (under) + limnion, diminutive of limne (lake, pool).

  • The cruise ship Sultanic hit the iceberg and soon it was resting among the hypolimnion layers of the lake.



decerebrate (de-CER-uh-brayt)
verb
To remove the cerebrum

noun
One who is devoid of intelligence or reason.
From Latin cerebrum (brain).

  • When Dr. Braegen decerebrated his third patient in a botched brain operation, his surgery privileges were taken away and practice limited to treating toe-nail fungus.



homonym (HOM-uh-nim)
noun
A word that is the same in spelling and pronunciation as another word but different in meaning. For example, quail (the bird) and quail (to lose heart.)
From Latin homonymum, from Greek homonumon, from neuter of homonumos (homonymous).

  • When the animal refused to come out of the cage in the middle of the circus, the animal-trainer didn't miss the opportunity to make wordplay with homonyms, "Please bear with me while I get the bear out."



extravasate (ik-STRAV-uh-sayt)
verb tr
To force to come out of a vessel, such as blood from blood vessels to surrounding tissues or lava from underground.
verb intr
To pour forth.
From Latin combining form extra- (outside, beyond) + vas (vessel) + -ate.

  • Unhappy at his wife's complaints that he squeezes the tube in the middle, Johann bought a rolling pin to extravasate the last remaining atoms of the toothpaste out.



Solution:

Of course, there was a pattern in those seemingly random words. All of these words can be typed on a standard QWERTY keyboard using only one hand - either left or right. Try it. Here are some other words that fall in this category:

  • Left hand only: abstract, reverberate.
  • Right hand only: lollipop, lollop, minikin, minimum, opinion.

Copyright 2003 by Anu Garg and Stuti Garg. All rights reserved. Reproduced by permission of the author.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.