Excerpt from A Word A Day by Anu Garg, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Word A Day

A Romp through Some of the Most Unusual and Intriguing Words in English

by Anu Garg

A Word A Day by Anu Garg X
A Word A Day by Anu Garg
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Jan 2003, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


 

testudinate (te-STOOD-in-ayt), also testudinal or testudinarian
adjective
1. Slow-moving, like a turtle.
2. Curved like the carapace (shell) of a turtle; vaulted.

noun
A turtle.

From Late Latin testudinatus, from Latin testudo (tortoise).

  • "I kinda find his slow pace and curved back alluring," the young fashion model fawned about the testudinate geriatric who just happened to be an oil magnate as well.

Test U Do?

In ancient Rome, on certain occasions when the legionaries were under attack, they would clump together, holding their shields outwards, with the central men holding their shields above their heads. In this way the shields acted like a shell around the cohort, and the name of this formation was testudo.
- Julie Murdoch, South Perth, Australia



 

gadfly (GAD-fly)
noun
1. One who persistently annoys or one who prods into action.
2. Any of the various types of flies that bite livestock.

From gad (a goad for cattle), from Middle English, from Old Norse gaddr.

  • The newspaper columnist saw himself as a public gadfly, keeping politicians honest and running critical articles about them when they weren't.



 

kangaroo court (kang-guh-ROO kort)
noun
A mock court set up with disregard to proper procedure to deliver a judgment arrived at in advance.

From the Old West to the Spanish Inquisition to the Salem Witch Trials, kangaroo courts have made their appearances throughout history. While theories abound regarding the origin of this expression, lexicographers haven't found a convincing proof of one or another and its derivation can be tagged with the succinct "origin unknown".

But that doesn't stop us from speculating. Some believe it comes from the animal itself - a funny-looking creature that bounces around without appearing to achieve anything. Then some think it is a court that is so named because it jumps to conclusions. According to one line of thought, the British didn't respect the Australian penal colony enough to give them due process of law and with that legacy we name it so. Or maybe it is because this setup describe courts whose opinions wander "all over the place" – opinions that change so much from case to case that the court precedent "bounces" like this member of marsupial family. Others surmise the term originated from the Gold Rush era involving the trial of some Aussie miners.

Jumping to Conclusions

I have known, from youthful days in Tennessee, a kangaroo court to be one which sets its own rules of procedure, and more specifically one in which the plaintiff and the defendant can find themselves in switched positions with the plaintiff being found guilty and the defendant innocent and not necessarily of the initial charge.
- R. David Cox Galax, Virginia



waspish (WOS-pish)
adjective
1. Like a wasp, in behavior (stinging) or in form (slender build).
2. Easily annoyed; irascible; petulant.
3. Of or pertaining to a WASP (White Anglo Saxon Protestant).
From wasp, from Middle English waspe, from Old English waesp, from waeps.

  • When she called him waspish in her most charming voice, the cranky, lean fellow didn't know what attribute of his she found so alluring.


Chapter 7

Copyright 2003 by Anu Garg and Stuti Garg. All rights reserved. Reproduced by permission of the author.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.