Excerpt from A Word A Day by Anu Garg, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Word A Day

A Romp through Some of the Most Unusual and Intriguing Words in English

by Anu Garg

A Word A Day by Anu Garg X
A Word A Day by Anu Garg
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Jan 2003, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Discover the Theme I

It is human nature to find patterns in things where there might be none, whether it is in the shape of clouds or in the arrangement of sand, in a chain of events, or in the digits of pi. Or in a list of words. What unites these words here in a common thread? You find out! Don your word-sleuth hat and discover the theme that weaves these words. Each word is another piece of the puzzle. Answer at the end of the chapter.



 

tessera (TESS-er-a) noun, plural tesserae
noun
A small piece of stone, glass, etc. used in making mosaic pattern.

This word comes to us from Greek tesseres, meaning "four," as in four corners of a piece used to create a mosaic pattern. From Latin, from Greek, neuter of tesseres, variant of tessares (four).

  • The kings delighted in playing chess on a giant checkerboard made of thousands of black and white tesserae, with live animals and people dressed as chess pieces standing on it for hours.



hypolimnion (hip-o-LIMN-ee-on)
noun
The lower layer of water in a lake that is stagnant and remains at a constant temperature.

From Greek hypo- (under) + limnion, diminutive of limne (lake, pool).

  • The cruise ship Sultanic hit the iceberg and soon it was resting among the hypolimnion layers of the lake.



decerebrate (de-CER-uh-brayt)
verb
To remove the cerebrum

noun
One who is devoid of intelligence or reason.
From Latin cerebrum (brain).

  • When Dr. Braegen decerebrated his third patient in a botched brain operation, his surgery privileges were taken away and practice limited to treating toe-nail fungus.



homonym (HOM-uh-nim)
noun
A word that is the same in spelling and pronunciation as another word but different in meaning. For example, quail (the bird) and quail (to lose heart.)
From Latin homonymum, from Greek homonumon, from neuter of homonumos (homonymous).

  • When the animal refused to come out of the cage in the middle of the circus, the animal-trainer didn't miss the opportunity to make wordplay with homonyms, "Please bear with me while I get the bear out."



extravasate (ik-STRAV-uh-sayt)
verb tr
To force to come out of a vessel, such as blood from blood vessels to surrounding tissues or lava from underground.
verb intr
To pour forth.
From Latin combining form extra- (outside, beyond) + vas (vessel) + -ate.

  • Unhappy at his wife's complaints that he squeezes the tube in the middle, Johann bought a rolling pin to extravasate the last remaining atoms of the toothpaste out.



Solution:

Of course, there was a pattern in those seemingly random words. All of these words can be typed on a standard QWERTY keyboard using only one hand - either left or right. Try it. Here are some other words that fall in this category:

  • Left hand only: abstract, reverberate.
  • Right hand only: lollipop, lollop, minikin, minimum, opinion.

Copyright 2003 by Anu Garg and Stuti Garg. All rights reserved. Reproduced by permission of the author.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.