Excerpt from The Sands of Time by Michael Hoeye, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Sands of Time

A Hermux Tantamoq Adventure

by Michael Hoeye

The Sands of Time by Michael Hoeye
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2002, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2003, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Where?" asked Hermux.

"Don't be ridiculous!" Lista scolded. "To Mirrin's opening at the Museum of course! What has everybody in Pinchester been talking about since August? Honestly Mr. Tantamoq, I wonder sometimes if you're entirely there…"

Hermux examined the envelope. It was addressed to him in a beautiful flowing script written in dark blue ink. He opened it carefully and withdrew the invitation.


The Department of Modern Art
of the
Pinchester Museum of Art and Science
requests the honor of your presence
for the gala opening
of
Lost & Found
The Vision of Mirrin Stentrill

New Paintings
October 20
8 P.M.
Formal Attire Cocktails Dinner Dancing R.S.V.P.

"Of course, you being Mirrin's good friend, there wasn't much doubt that you'd get invited," Lista confided. "But you can never be completely sure. Take Lanayda Prink for example. She donates her entire collection of coffee mugs to the museum, including all the mugs from all her trips out West, and does she get invited? Something tells me she won't. And boy, will she be steamed! It shows that you can never be too polite to your postal worker." She winked.

"And now Hermux, who is your interesting new friend?" she asked.

Hermux turned to make the introductions. But the old chipmunk was gone. He had sneaked out of the shop without making a sound.

"I'm afraid I don't know his name," said Hermux. "A nervous, odd fellow. He says he knew my father. But he didn't say how. I never found out what he wanted. I don't even know where he's from."

Hermux ran the tip of his paw thoughtfully over the workbench where the old chipmunk had set his knapsack. "Although from the looks of this sand, I would say that until recently, he's been out West. Probably in the desert."

Copyright Michael Hoeye 2001. All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced without written permission from the author or publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.