Results for Nonfiction + Early 20th Century

Click on the buttons below to filter by subgenre/theme, time period and setting
Select your view:
  • The Man Who Hated Women: Sex, Censorship, and Civil Liberties in the Gilded Age
    Amy Sohn
    Hardcover: 07/06/2021
     
    The New York Times–bestselling author Amy Sohn presents a narrative history of Anthony Comstock, anti-...
  • When Broadway Was Black: The Triumphant Story of the All-Black Musical that Changed the World (aka Footnotes)
    Caseen Gaines
    Hardcover: 05/25/2021
     
    For readers of Hidden Figures and Something Wonderful, Footnotes is the story of New York in the roaring ...
  • Edison
    Edmund Morris
    Paperback: 11/03/2020
     
    From Pulitzer Prize-winning author Edmund Morris comes a revelatory new biography of Thomas Alva Edison, the ...
  • The Islamic Enlightenment: The Struggle Between Faith and Reason, 1798 to Modern Times
    Christopher de Bellaigue
    Paperback: 08/14/2018
     
    A revelatory and game-changing narrative that rewrites everything we thought we knew about the modern history ...
  • Caught in the Revolution: Petrograd, Russia, 1917 - A World on the Edge
    Helen Rappaport
    Paperback: 04/10/2018
     
    From the bestselling author of The Romanov Sisters, Caught in the Revolution is Helen Rappaport's masterful ...
  • Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI
    David Grann
    Paperback: 04/03/2018
     
    Winner of the 2017 BookBrowse Nonfiction Award

    A twisting, haunting true-life murder mystery about one of ...
  • Renoir's Dancer: The Secret Life of Suzanne Valadon
    Catherine Hewitt
    Hardcover: 02/27/2018
     
    Catherine Hewitt's richly told biography of Suzanne Valadon, the illegitimate daughter of a provincial linen ...

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Members please login. Interested in becoming a member? Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.