Results for General Fiction + Thrillers + Debuts (first books and first novels), set in USA

Total books found: 31

Page 1 of 4
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!
Filter by Time Period
Select your view:
  • The Other Black Girl
    Zakiya Dalila Harris
    Hardcover: 06/01/2021
     
    Urgent, propulsive, and sharp as a knife, The Other Black Girl is an electric debut about the tension that ...
  • Firekeeper's Daughter
    Angeline Boulley
    Hardcover: 03/16/2021
     
    Winner of the 2021 BookBrowse Award for Best Young Adult Novel

    In Firekeeper's Daughter, debut author ...
  • The Secrets We Kept: A novel
    Lara Prescott
    Paperback: 06/30/2020
     
    A thrilling tale of secretaries turned spies, of love and duty, and of sacrifice--inspired by the true story ...
  • Miracle Creek
    Angie Kim
    Paperback: 04/07/2020
     
    A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our ...
  • Confessions of an Innocent Man
    David R. Dow
    Paperback: 03/31/2020
     
    A thrillingly suspenseful debut novel, and a fierce howl of rage that questions the true meaning of justice.
  • The Parking Lot Attendant: A Novel
    Nafkote Tamirat
    Paperback: 08/27/2019
     
    A mesmerizing, indelible coming-of-age story about a girl in Boston's tightly-knit Ethiopian community who ...
  • The Blind: A Chilling Psychological Suspense
    A.F. Brady
    Paperback: 07/31/2018
     
    A razor-sharp debut about a woman who goes so far off the deep end, she might never make it back up…

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Members please login. Interested in becoming a member? Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.