Results for General Fiction + Short Stories & Essays, set in West

Select your view:
  • The Largesse of the Sea Maiden: Stories
    Denis Johnson
    Hardcover: 01/16/2018
    Twenty-five years after Jesus' Son, a haunting new collection of short stories on aging, mortality, and ...
  • The Refugees
    Viet Thanh Nguyen
    Paperback: 01/02/2018
    Viet Thanh Nguyen's The Sympathizer was one of the most widely and highly praised novels of 2015. Nguyen's ...
  • Dog Run Moon: Stories
    Callan Wink
    Hardcover: 02/09/2016
    In the tradition of Richard Ford, Annie Proulx, and Kent Haruf comes a dazzling debut story collection by a ...
  • Blasphemy: New and Selected Stories
    Sherman Alexie
    Paperback: 10/08/2013
    An indispensable collection of new and classic stories, Blasphemy reminds us, on every thrilling page, why ...
  • Happiness Is a Chemical in the Brain: Stories
    Lucia Perillo
    Paperback: 05/20/2013
    Set in a small town in the Pacific Northwest, Lucia Perillo's story collection is a sharp-edged, witty ...
  • Monstress: Stories
    Lysley Tenorio
    Paperback: 01/31/2012
    A luminous collection of heartbreaking, vivid, startling, and gloriously unique stories set amongst the ...
  • The Farmer's Daughter: Novellas
    Jim Harrison
    Paperback: 09/07/2010
    The Farmer’s Daughter is a memorable portrait of three decidedly unconventional American lives. With wit,...

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 11

Page 1 of 2
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Theme
Filter by Time Period

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.