P.J. O'Rourke biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

P.J. O'Rourke

P.J. O'Rourke

How to pronounce P.J. O'Rourke: o-RORK

P.J. O'Rourke Biography

P.J. O'Rourke is the best-selling author of several books, including Modern Manners, The Bachelor Home Companion, Republican Party Reptile, Holidays in Hell, Parliament of Whores, Give War A Chance, All the Trouble in the World, Age and Guile Beat Youth, Innocence, and a Bad Haircut, and now, Eat the Rich.

Born in 1947 in Toledo, Ohio, he graduated from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, then won a Woodrow Wilson Fellowship to study for an MA in English at Johns Hopkins. In the early 1970s, he wrote for and edited several "underground" publications, including a Baltimore weekly called Harry. He joined the National Lampoon in 1973, became its managing editor in 1975, and was named editor-in-chief in 1978. While at the Lampoon he created, with Doug Kenney, The National Lampoon 1964 Yearbook Parody and, with John Hughes, The National Lampoon Sunday Newspaper Parody.

After leaving the Lampoon in 1981, O'Rourke became a freelance writer for such insanely diverse publications as Car and Driver, The American Spectator, Playboy, Esquire, Vanity Fair, Automobile, House and Garden, The New Republic, The New York Times Book Review, Parade, Smart, Harper's and Rolling Stone, where he is currently the magazine's Foreign Affairs Desk Chief.

O'Rourke's books have been translated into a dozen languages and have been bestsellers worldwide. Three have been New York Times hardcover bestsellers: Parliament of Whores and Give War A Chance, both of which went to #1, as well as All the Trouble in the World. When not on the road, he divides his time between New Hampshire and Washington, DC.

P.J. O'Rourke's website

This bio was last updated on 03/20/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by P.J. O'Rourke at BookBrowse
Eat The Rich jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for P.J. O'Rourke but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • David Brooks

    David Brooks

    David Brooks was born in Toronto in 1961 and grew up in New York City in Stuyvesant Town. He graduated from the University of Chicago in 1983 with a degree in history. Brooks served as a reporter and later op-ed editor for ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Eat The Rich

    Try:
    Bobos In Paradise
    by David Brooks

  • William D. Danko, Ph.D.

    William D. Danko, Ph.D.

    William D. Danko, Ph.D., is associate professor and chair of marketing at the University at Albany, State University of New York. He is the co-author of The Millionaire Next Door, and his academic publications have ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Eat The Rich

    Try:
    The Millionaire Next Door
    by William D. Danko, Ph.D.

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Office of Historical Corrections
    The Office of Historical Corrections
    by Danielle Evans
    In The Office of Historical Corrections, the second story collection from Danielle Evans, readers ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    The Dutch House is my introduction to Ann Patchett, which, after reading it, surprises me. I had ...

  • Book Jacket: Nights When Nothing Happened
    Nights When Nothing Happened
    by Simon Han
    A quiet atmosphere of dread permeates Simon Han's subdued debut novel Nights When Nothing Happened. ...
  • Book Jacket: Take It Back
    Take It Back
    by Kia Abdullah
    In Kia Abdullah's novel Take It Back, sexual violence advisor Zara Kaleel becomes involved in a case...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Prophets
    by Robert Jones Jr.

    A stunning debut novel about the forbidden union between two enslaved young men on a Deep South plantation.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    The Fortunate Ones
    by Ed Tarkington

    An engrossing story of class, love, and loyalty for fans of Kevin Wilson's Nothing to See Here.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Waiting for the Night Song
by Julie Carrick Dalton
A startling and timely debut about friendships forged in childhood and ruptured by the high price of secrets.
Win This Book!
Win The House on Vesper Sands

The House on Vesper Sands by Paraic O'Donnell

Introducing a detective duo for the ages who unlock the secrets of a startling Victorian mystery.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T T T Light F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.