Announcing Our Best Books of 2021

P.J. O'Rourke biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

P.J. O'Rourke

P.J. O'Rourke

How to pronounce P.J. O'Rourke: o-RORK

P.J. O'Rourke Biography

P.J. O'Rourke is the best-selling author of several books, including Modern Manners, The Bachelor Home Companion, Republican Party Reptile, Holidays in Hell, Parliament of Whores, Give War A Chance, All the Trouble in the World, Age and Guile Beat Youth, Innocence, and a Bad Haircut, and now, Eat the Rich.

Born in 1947 in Toledo, Ohio, he graduated from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, then won a Woodrow Wilson Fellowship to study for an MA in English at Johns Hopkins. In the early 1970s, he wrote for and edited several "underground" publications, including a Baltimore weekly called Harry. He joined the National Lampoon in 1973, became its managing editor in 1975, and was named editor-in-chief in 1978. While at the Lampoon he created, with Doug Kenney, The National Lampoon 1964 Yearbook Parody and, with John Hughes, The National Lampoon Sunday Newspaper Parody.

After leaving the Lampoon in 1981, O'Rourke became a freelance writer for such insanely diverse publications as Car and Driver, The American Spectator, Playboy, Esquire, Vanity Fair, Automobile, House and Garden, The New Republic, The New York Times Book Review, Parade, Smart, Harper's and Rolling Stone, where he is currently the magazine's Foreign Affairs Desk Chief.

O'Rourke's books have been translated into a dozen languages and have been bestsellers worldwide. Three have been New York Times hardcover bestsellers: Parliament of Whores and Give War A Chance, both of which went to #1, as well as All the Trouble in the World. When not on the road, he divides his time between New Hampshire and Washington, DC.

P.J. O'Rourke's website

This bio was last updated on 03/20/2016. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by P.J. O'Rourke at BookBrowse
Eat The Rich jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for P.J. O'Rourke but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • David Brooks

    David Brooks

    David Brooks was born in Toronto in 1961 and grew up in New York City in Stuyvesant Town. He graduated from the University of Chicago in 1983 with a degree in history. Brooks served as a reporter and later op-ed editor for ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Eat The Rich

    Try:
    Bobos In Paradise
    by David Brooks

  • William D. Danko, Ph.D.

    William D. Danko, Ph.D.

    William D. Danko, Ph.D., is associate professor and chair of marketing at the University at Albany, State University of New York. He is the co-author of The Millionaire Next Door, and his academic publications have ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Eat The Rich

    Try:
    The Millionaire Next Door
    by William D. Danko, Ph.D.

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    People from My Neighborhood
    by Hiromi Kawakami
    People from My Neighborhood is exactly what it sounds like — an unnamed narrator recounts a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Win Me Something
    by Kyle Lucia Wu
    Kyle Lucia Wu's Win Me Something opens with a young woman named Willa explaining that she did not ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Missing Trees
    The Island of Missing Trees
    by Elif Shafak
    The Island of Missing Trees by Elif Shafak tells a tale of generational trauma, explores identity ...
  • Book Jacket: The Correspondents
    The Correspondents
    by Judith Mackrell
    In the introduction to The Correspondents, author Judith Mackrell points out that although there had...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    True Crime Story
    by Joseph Knox

    The #1 international bestselling novel. What happens to all the girls who go missing?

Who Said...

They say that in the end truth will triumph, but it's a lie.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Y Can't S T H, G O O T K

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.