Karin Fossum biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Karin Fossum

Karin Fossum

Karin Fossum Biography

Karin Fossum is the author of many novels and two collections of short stories. Her crime novels featuring Inspector Sejer have been translated into sixteen languages.

Don't Look Back is the first of Fossum's police procedurals to be published in the USA. The second in the series, He Who Fears The Wolf was published in 2005, and other translations of the series in English include Calling Out For You and Black Seconds.

Fossum has recently been honored with Gumshoe Award and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for mystery/thriller. She lives in a small town in southeastern Norway.



This bio was last updated on 03/26/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Q&A with Karin Fossum, 'Norway's Queen of Crime'.

In 'He Who Fears the Wolf', Errki escapes from an asylum; and Jannick lives in a home for boys. How were you able to capture the psychology involved with these characters?
I have been working in several institutions. I know outsiders well, and I sympathize with them.

Prior to its Harcourt debut in the United States, 'He Who Fears the Wolf' was released around the world. In a review, the Sunday Times said, "Fossum's presentation of her characters is marked by an intelligence and compassion that is not often found in the pages of crime fiction." When it comes to your work, what marks a book's success for you?
That the readers believe in my story. That I have been able to move them.

Inspector Konrad Sejer first appeared in 'Don't Look Back' (Harcourt, 2004). What do you like most about this character?
He is serious and decent. And he loves his work.

Originally published in Norway, your crime novels that feature Inspector Sejer have been translated into sixteen languages. How does it feel to have your books so widely published?
It feels strange. I look upon them as small, quiet stories.

Do ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Karin Fossum at BookBrowse
Hell Fire jacket The Drowned Boy jacket I Can See in the Dark jacket Eva's Eye jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Karin Fossum but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Giles Blunt

    Giles Blunt

    Giles Blunt was born in 1952 in Windsor, Ontario, and grew up in North Bay, Ontario.  He describes his parents as being "so English that the space on their passports for citizenship could only be filled in 'British... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    He Who Fears The Wolf

    Try:
    Forty Words For Sorrow
    by Giles Blunt

  • Christopher Fowler

    Christopher Fowler

    Christopher Fowler is the award-winning author of over thirty novels and twelve short story collections, and the Bryant & May mystery novels.

    His latest books are the sinister comedy-thriller Plastic, the Bryant & May novel ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    He Who Fears The Wolf

    Try:
    The Water Room
    by Christopher Fowler

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Perfect Little World
    Perfect Little World
    by Kevin Wilson
    It might be the beginning of a tragic story: Izzy Poole falls in love with her mentally unstable ...
  • Book Jacket: Pachinko
    Pachinko
    by Min Jin Lee
    Pachinko has one of the best opening lines I've encountered in some time: "History has failed us, ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Summer Before the War
    by Helen Simonson
    Set on the cusp of World War I, The Summer Before the War exudes strength and spirit as a small town...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June
by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Caught in the Revolution
    by Helen Rappaport

    A masterful retelling of the Russian Revolution from the author of The Romanov Sisters.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Typewriter's Tale
    by Michiel Heyns

    A thought-provoking novel on love, art and life fully lived.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Experience is not what happens to you; it's what you do with what happens to you

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Your F C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.