Karin Fossum Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Karin Fossum

Karin Fossum

An interview with Karin Fossum

Q&A with Karin Fossum, 'Norway's Queen of Crime'.

In 'He Who Fears the Wolf', Errki escapes from an asylum; and Jannick lives in a home for boys. How were you able to capture the psychology involved with these characters?
I have been working in several institutions. I know outsiders well, and I sympathize with them.

Prior to its Harcourt debut in the United States, 'He Who Fears the Wolf' was released around the world. In a review, the Sunday Times said, "Fossum's presentation of her characters is marked by an intelligence and compassion that is not often found in the pages of crime fiction." When it comes to your work, what marks a book's success for you?
That the readers believe in my story. That I have been able to move them.

Inspector Konrad Sejer first appeared in 'Don't Look Back' (Harcourt, 2004). What do you like most about this character?
He is serious and decent. And he loves his work.

Originally published in Norway, your crime novels that feature Inspector Sejer have been translated into sixteen languages. How does it feel to have your books so widely published?
It feels strange. I look upon them as small, quiet stories.

Do you have any plans for another Inspector Sejer mystery?
Yes. I'm working on it. I have fallen in love with this genre. [The third book in Fossum's series, When the Devil Holds the Candle will be available in July 2006.]

You've been dubbed Norway's "Queen of Crime." What do you enjoy most about writing crime novels?
The drama. The tragedy. The psychology. The mystery.

As a writer, what's been your proudest moment?
When I published my first collection of poetry at the age of twenty (1974).

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.