P.J. Tracy biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

P.J. Tracy

P.J. Tracy

P.J. Tracy Biography

PJ Tracy was the pseudonym of mother-daughter writing duo P.J. and Traci Lambrecht, winners of the Anthony, Barry, Gumshoe, and Minnesota Book Awards. Their eight novels, Monkeewrench, Live Bait, Dead Run, Snow Blind, Shoot to Thrill, Off The Grid, The Sixth Idea and Nothing Stays Buried have become national and international bestsellers. The Guilty Dead, the ninth installment of the Monkeewrench series, will be released in the US and the UK in fall of 2018.

PJ was a long-time resident of Minnesota until her death in December 2016. Traci remains in rural Minnesota, just outside Minneapolis, and continues writing about the Monkeewrench gang.

P.J. Tracy's website

This bio was last updated on 03/07/2018. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Interview

One half of the mother-daughter writing team known as P.J. Tracy discuss their first book, Monkeewrench.

Monkeewrench (titled Want To Play? in the UK) features some great characters who readers will identify with and indeed, everyone will have their favourite. Do you have a favorite character in the book, and if so, why have you chosen this character?
This is a bit like asking a parent which of their children they like best. In the early stages of pulling the story together, Grace McBride was the centrepiece and a clear favorite, primarily because she could earn my admiration and pull at my heartstrings at the same time. She could also wear English riding boots all day long, which in my opinion puts her in the superhero category. But as the writing progressed and other characters became more developed, I found myself switching loyalties, fickle sort that I am, becoming emotionally attached to whatever character I was writing at the time. An obvious case of 'love the one you're with', I suppose.

The book is obviously very well researched, and there is a lot of in depth knowledge about how police utilize computers to track down criminals. How much research did you have to do before beginning the book, and how much information did the police let you access?
Research – from books, articles, the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by P.J. Tracy at BookBrowse
Off the Grid jacket Shoot to Thrill jacket Snow Blind jacket Dead Run jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for P.J. Tracy but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Harlan Coben

    Harlan Coben

    Harlan Coben was born and raised in New Jersey.  After graduating from Amherst College as political science major, he worked in the travel industry. He now lives in New Jersey with his wife, Anne Armstrong-Coben MD, a... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Monkeewrench

    Try:
    Gone For Good
    by Harlan Coben

  • T Jefferson Parker

    T Jefferson Parker

    T. Jefferson Parker was born in Los Angeles and has lived all his life in Southern California. He was educated in public schools in Orange County, and earned a bachelor's degree in English from the University of California, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Monkeewrench

    Try:
    Cold Pursuit
    by T Jefferson Parker

We recommend 8 similar authors

View all 8 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Prophet
    by Michael Koryta
    Hot diggity! How can you lose by reading a gritty whodunit about football, even if you're not a ...
  • Book Jacket: Dog Flowers
    Dog Flowers
    by Danielle Geller
    In Dog Flowers, Danielle Geller tells us what is wrong with her family: heavy drinking, abandonment,...
  • Book Jacket: The Sea Gate
    The Sea Gate
    by Jane Johnson
    In Jane Johnson's novel, The Sea Gate, set in England, readers are introduced to Becky, a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Stories from Suffragette City
    Stories from Suffragette City
    by M.J. Rose, Fiona Davis
    Our First Impressions readers were fascinated by the historical fiction from a range of authors ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Narrowboat Summer
    by Anne Youngson

    From the author of Meet Me at the Museum, a charming novel of second chances.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    At the Edge of the Haight
    by Katherine Seligman

    Winner of the 2019 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Moment of Lift
by Melinda Gates
How can we summon a moment of lift for women? Because when you lift up women, you lift up humanity.
Who Said...

The thing that cowardice fears most is decision

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T M T C, T M T Stay T S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.