Frances Moore Lappe biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Frances Moore Lappe

Frances Moore Lappe

How to pronounce Frances Moore Lappe: luh-PAY (confirmed by the author)

Frances Moore Lappe Biography

Frances Moore Lappé’s 1971, three-million-copy bestseller, Diet for a Small Planet, awakened a whole generation to the irrationality of feeding mountains of grain to livestock, which return in meat only a tiny fraction of the nutrients fed. Today, with concerns growing over genetically modified organisms and impact of corporate globalization, she has teamed up with her daughter Anna to write a sequel.

Mother and daughter have just completed Hope’s Edge: The Next Diet for a Small Planet. In it, the two Lappés pick up where the original book left off. Together, they set out on a round-the-world journey to explore the greatest challenges we face at the new millennium. Traveling to Asia, Africa, Latin America and Europe, as well as here in the United States, they sought answers to the most urgent question of our time—whether we can go beyond today’s consumerism and the isolation of me-first capitalism and find paths we each can walk that will heal our lives and the planet. Hope’s Edge was released by Tarcher/Putnam.

While writing Hope’s Edge, Lappé, author of over a dozen other books, was a visiting scholar at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Currently, she is a senior fellow at Second Nature in Boston. Lappé is the co-founder of two national organizations.

In 1975, with Joseph Collins she launched the California-based Institute for Food and Development Policy (Food First) to educate Americans about the causes of world hunger. Still making waves after twenty-five years, the Institute was described by The New York Times as one of the nation's "most respected food think tanks." Its publications continue to shape the international debate on the root causes of hunger and poverty.

In 1990, Lappé co-founded the Center for Living Democracy, a ten-year initiative that helped make visible and therefore accelerate the spread of democratic innovations in which regular citizens contribute to problem solving in all dimensions of public life.

Lappé served as founding editor of the Center’s American News Service, which over five years placed solutions-oriented news stories in more than 300 newspapers, including almost half of the nation’s top 100 newspapers by circulation.

Lappé's books, used in a broad array of courses in hundreds of colleges and universities and in more than 50 countries, have been translated into over a dozen languages. Lappé's 1989 book, Rediscovering America's Values, written as a dialogue, has sparked discussion on democratic values in thousands of settings. The Los Angeles Times called the book "original" and "provocative"- a "remarkable and valuable resource...It will help individual readers clarify their own personal values."

Her 1994 The Quickening of America: Rebuilding Our Nation, Remaking our Lives focuses on the success stories and practical tools of citizen problem solving. Lappé's life and work have been featured in People Magazine, The Boston Globe Magazine, The Utne Reader, Vegetarian Times, Orion Magazine, and many other publications. Lappé's articles have appeared in publications as diverse as The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Readers' Digest, Christian Century, Chemistry, Le Monde Diplomatique, National Civic Review, Tikkun, and Harpers.

Her television and radio appearances have included the Today Show, CBS Radio, and National Public Radio. Lappé's work has been featured in several television documentaries, including an hour-long special devoted to her life that aired in Australia and Great Britain. She lectures widely to university audiences, community groups, and professional conferences.

Lappé has received 15 honorary doctorates from distinguished institutions, including the University of Michigan, Kenyon College, Allegheny College, and Lewis and Clark College.

In 1987 in Sweden, Lappé became the fourth American to receive the Right Livelihood Award, sometimes called the "Alternative Nobel," for her "vision and work healing our planet and uplifting humanity." In her 30's, Lappé received the annual Mademoiselle magazine award, honoring young American women leaders. Lappé's book awards include the World Hunger Media Award and the Henry George Award. In 2000, she was inducted into Natural Health Magazine's Hall of Fame.

Bibliography
Getting A Grip 2: Clarity, Creativity and Courage for the World We Really Want, 2010
Getting A Grip: Clarity, Creativity and Courage in a World Gone Mad, 2007
Democracy's Edge: Choosing to Save Our country by Bringing Democracy to Life, 2005
You Have the Power: Choosing Courage in a Culture of Fear (with Jeffrey Perkins), Tarcher/Penguin, 2004
Hope’s Edge: The Next Diet for a Small Planet (with Anna Lappé), Tarcher/Penguin, 2002
The Quickening of America: Rebuilding Our Nation, Remaking Our Lives (with Paul Martin Du Bois), Jossey-Bass, 1994
Diet for a Small Planet, Ballantine Books, 1971, 1975, 1982, 1991 (with Rachel Schurman), The Institute for Food and Development Policy, 1990
Rediscovering America’s Values, Ballantine Books, 1989
(with Rachel Schurman and Kevin Danaher), Grove Press, 1987
World Hunger: Twelve Myths (Joseph Collins, Peter Rosset and Luis Esparza), Grove Press, 1986. Updated and revised, 1999
What To Do After You Turn Off the T.V., Ballantine Books, 1985
Nicaragua: What Difference Could a Revolution Make? (with Joseph Collins), Grove Press, 1984
Now We Can Speak (with Joseph Collins), Institute for Food and Development Policy, 1984
Aid as Obstacle (with Joseph Collins and David Kinley), Institute for Food and Development Policy, 1980, Institute for Food and Development Policy, 1979
Food First: Beyond the Myth of Scarcity (with Joseph Collins), Houghton Mifflin 1977, Ballantine Books, 1979

Frances Moore Lappe's website

This bio was last updated on 06/27/2017. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Frances Moore Lappe at BookBrowse
Getting a Grip jacket Hope's Edge jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Frances Moore Lappe but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Douglas Abrams

    Douglas Abrams

    Douglas Abrams is the New York Times bestselling co-author of The Book of Joy: Lasting Happiness in a Changing World with the Dalai Lama and Desmond Tutu, the first book in the Global Icons Series. Douglas is also the founder... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Hope's Edge

    Try:
    The Book of Hope
    by Douglas Abrams

  • Keith Bradsher

    Keith Bradsher

    Keith Bradsher is the Hong Kong bureau chief of The New York Times, covering Asian business, economic, political and science news.

    In 2013, he was part of the team awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Explanatory Reporting.

    He ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Hope's Edge

    Try:
    High and Mighty
    by Keith Bradsher

We recommend 14 similar authors

View all 14 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Lost Ticket
    by Freya Sampson
    Drama on the bus can be Shakespearean. You just want to go downtown, but on the way, you overhear a ...
  • Book Jacket
    The War Librarian
    by Addison Armstrong
    Emmaline Balakin believes in the power of the written word — books have changed her life. When...
  • Book Jacket: The Book of Goose
    The Book of Goose
    by Yiyun Li
    Yiyun Li's The Book of Goose is a story of childhood friendship between narrator Agnès, a one-...
  • Book Jacket: Big Red
    Big Red
    by Jerome Charyn
    Jerome Charyn made his name as an author of detective novels, and over the years he has taken his ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Bell in the Lake
by Lars Mytting
The engrossing epic novel - a #1 bestseller in Norway - of a young woman whose fate plays out against her village's mystical church bells.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Our Missing Hearts
    by Celeste Ng

    From the author of Little Fires Everywhere, the inspiring new novel about a mother’s unbreakable love in a world consumed by fear.

Book Club Giveaway!
Win A Minor Chorus

A Minor Chorus

A debut novel from a rising literary star that brings the modern queer and Indigenous experience into sharp relief.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

G R T Bad R

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.