Craig Danner biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Craig Danner
Author photo © Lynn Weyand

Craig Danner

Craig Danner Biography

Craig Danner is a native Oregonian and fourth generation bootmaker, who holds a license to practice medicine as a Physician Assistant. He studied creative writing at Macalester and The Evergreen State colleges, and has lived and worked in Indonesia, the South Pacific, India, Nepal, Mexico, and Ecuador. His debut novel, Himalayan Dhaba, stems from experiences gained while he and his wife spent six months running a remote hospital in the mountains of Northern India. His second novel, The Fires of Edgarville, was released in September 2009.

From the author's website

Craig Danner's website

This bio was last updated on 11/11/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Craig Danner talks about his experience practicing medicine in a remote part of the Himalayas - which led to him writing Himalayan Dhaba.

"I started writing Himalayan Dhaba during the winter of 1991, while my wife and I were working in a hospital in the mountains of Northern India. The story began as a screenplay. The world we were immersed in was so visually stunning, it seemed the perfect setting for a movie. But as the characters evolved and their stories took hold of the writing, they demanded the time and development that can only be accomplished in a novel. I still think it would make a great movie, but it's an even better book."


Q. How would you describe Himalayan Dhaba?

Himalayan Dhaba is the story of Mary, an American woman doctor struggling to run a hospital in the mountains of northern India. The novel tells how five very isolated and extremely disparate people find themselves touching bottom both physically and emotionally, and how their lives become enmeshed as they each find a very different pathway to redemption. I can't stand reading novels about people that are completely unsympathetic, so I crafted my characters so even the most despicable ones act in such a way that you understand what motivates them. The novel is about how these people find their way out of their own personal hells; about how fate ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Craig Danner at BookBrowse
Himalayan Dhaba jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Craig Danner but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Aimee E. Liu

    Aimee E. Liu

    Aimee Liu is the author of the novels Flash House, Cloud Mountain and Face. She currently teaches as a member of the faculty of Goddard College's Port Townsend MFA program in creative writing. She served as 2002 President of ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Himalayan Dhaba

    Try:
    Flash House
    by Aimee E. Liu

  • Eliot Pattison

    Eliot Pattison

    Eliot Pattison has been described as a "writer of faraway mysteries," a label which is particularly apt for someone whose travel and interests span such a broad spectrum. After reaching a million miles of global trekking, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Himalayan Dhaba

    Try:
    The Lord of Death
    by Eliot Pattison

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...
  • Book Jacket: Fortress America
    Fortress America
    by Elaine Tyler May
    In Fortress America, Elaine Tyler May presents a fascinating but alarming portrait of America's...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
A Piece of the World by Christina Baker Kline

From the bestselling author of Orphan Train, a stunning novel of passion and art.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Force of Nature
    by Jane Harper

    A riveting, tension-driven thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Dry.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore

The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore

A gripping novel from the award-winning author of For Today I Am a Boy.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

G O T P, B The P, F T P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.