Summary and book reviews of Himalayan Dhaba by Craig Danner

Himalayan Dhaba

by Craig Danner

Himalayan Dhaba
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jun 2002, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2003, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Leads the reader through the mountains of India and across the rugged terrain of the human heart on a journey that will long be remembered.

Mary, a newly widowed American doctor, travels to a remote hospital high in the Indian Himalayas to work with a colleague of her late husband. She arrives to find this other doctor missing, the hospital abandoned, and herself the only medical provider within a hundred miles.

Caught between shattering loneliness and harrowing self-doubt, she struggles to overcome daunting medical and cultural obstacles in a yearlong odyssey of healing and redemption that connects her with a cast of unexpected characters.

Chapter One

The Patient

She’s waiting out a sudden shower of fifty kilo bags of rice, a gathered clutch of angry chickens flapping like their heads are off. It’s raining rolls of razor wire and wooden crates of tangerines, a blood-red set of luggage for a couple on their honeymoon. The driver honked through eighteen hours of blindly climbing hairpin turns; the bus hit every dog that dared to cross the road from Chandigarh. Mary’s so exhausted she can barely stand among the crowd - she’s praying that her bags are there, the one box in particular. At last she sees her canvas duffel sailing through the mountain air; she waves and yells to get the man to treat her box more carefully. But his ropy muscles flex and stretch across his shirtless arms and back, the sun gleams off the lines of sweat that trickle down his dusty flank. He doesn't look or heed her shout before he drops it to the ground - the box lands in the mud and dust: the sparkling sound of ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!
Introduction

Mary, a newly widowed American doctor, travels to a remote hospital high in the Indian Himalayas to work with a colleague of her late husband. She arrives to find this other doctor missing, the hospital abandoned, and herself the only medical provider within a hundred miles.

Caught between shattering loneliness and harrowing self-doubt, she struggles to overcome daunting medical and cultural obstacles in a yearlong odyssey of healing and redemption that connects her with a cast of unexpected characters.

There is Amod, the waiter in the local dhaba, who secretly adores and watches out for the doctor. Phillip is a young and lonely British traveler who lands in the doctor's care before he is kidnapped deep into the ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
  • award image

Reviews

Media Reviews

Salem Evening News

Himalayan Dhaba is not so unlike something Paul Theroux might have written earlier in his career, and part poetry, for it is beautifully written and elegantly shaped.

Winner, Pacific Northwest Book Award

First novelist Craig Danner tackles themes as lofty as the peaks that tower over his characters, while grounding his story in the closely observed details of rural life in northern India. A sense of spiritual craving permeates the book, propelling the story as swiftly as a thriller. Danner skillfully entwines the urgency and occasional despair of his heroine's medical work with the majesty and wonder of the mighty Himalayas.

Salem Statesman Journal

Prose that sings...a vision that pierces the clouds at the top of the world and allows us to see beyond ourselves.

The Bellingham Herald

A breathtaking display of enormous talent.

Kirkus Review

An engaging debut novel...A fresh spirit animates this tale, one carefully constructed, simply narrated, and briskly organized.

Author Blurb Pete Fromm, PNBA Award-winning author of How All This Started and Night Swimming
Don't miss it. Mr. Danner is a born storyteller, and writing with rare competence, he has given us a unique and unforgettable world.

Author Blurb Neal Stephenson, Hugo Award-winning author of Cryptonomicon and Snow Crash
Himalayan Dhaba moves from gorgeous descriptions to telling insights to surprisingly gripping action with the speed and intensity of a bus plunge.

Author Blurb Pete Sinclair, author of We Aspired The Last Innocent Americans
Danner never makes a slip. He is a writer not only of place and person, but also of the soul.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Himalayan Dhaba, try these:

  • The Lord of Death jacket

    The Lord of Death

    by Eliot Pattison

    Published 2010

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    A government bus filled with imprisoned illegal monks has overturned. Two women in an approaching sedan have been killed. Now Shan, an exiled Chinese national and a former Beijing investigator, must find the murderer.

  • Sky Burial jacket

    Sky Burial

    by Xue Xinran

    Published 2006

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    An extraordinary portrait of a woman and the land of Tibet, each at the mercy of fate and politics. It is an unforgettable, ultimately uplifting tale of love loss, loyalty, and survival.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.