Carol Goodman biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Carol Goodman

Carol Goodman

Carol Goodman Biography

I started writing at age nine, when my teacher introduced the topic 'Creative Writing' and I wrote a ninety-page, crayon-illustrated collection entitled The Adventures of the Magical Herd in which a girl named Carol lives with a herd of magical horses. I knew from that moment I wanted to be a writer and that I'd always find a way to rewrite my own life.

During my teens I wrote poetry and was awarded the Young Poet of Long Island award. I took a break from writing to major in Latin at Vassar College, where I fell in love with language and the Hudson Valley, two themes that would reappear in my first published novel, the bestselling and critically acclaimed novel, The Lake of Dead Languages (Ballantine, 2001). The novel is about a Latin teacher who returns to a girls' school in the Adirondacks and was inspired by a year I spent living in the Adirondacks and also family trips to the Mohonk Mountain House.

In the next decade, while living on Long Island and raising my daughter, Maggie, I wrote five more literary mysteries, was nominated for the IMPAC award twice and the Simon & Schuster/Mary Higgins Clark Award, and won the Hammett Prize for Literary Excellence in Crime Writing for my second novel, The Seduction of Water. I have tried in these novels to explore themes of artistic inspiration, family conflict, and gender issues, using the landscape and history of New York's Hudson Valley, the Catskills, and the Adirondacks as setting and motif.

I departed from mystery fiction for a few years by writing fantasy and young adult fiction but I stayed close to (my creative) home geographically. My husband, poet Lee Slonimsky, and I wrote an urban fantasy trilogy set in New York City. Under the pseudonym Juliet Dark, I wrote The Demon Lover (Ballantine 2011), which Booklist named a top ten fantasy/science fiction book of 2012, and two more paranormal fantasy books in the same series set in a fictitious college town in the Catskills.  My young adult novel, Blythewood (Viking Children's 2013), was named a best young adult novel by the American Library Association. The Blythewood series is set at the eponymous girls' school on the Hudson River.

When I finally moved to the Hudson Valley in 2010 I found that I hadn't run out of things to say about the area. I was inspired by the Hudson River mansions and the scenic and perilous River Road, which I drove on daily, to return to suspense fiction with River Road (Touchstone, 2016).

I continue to enjoy exploring geography, folklore, and history as sources of inspiration for my writing. My two latest books, The Metropolitans, a middle-grade historical novel, and the ghostly suspense The Widow's House, are set in New York City and the Hudson Valley respectively. When I'm not writing and taking long walks near the river, I teach writing and literature at SUNY New Paltz and The New School.

Carol Goodman's website

This bio was last updated on 03/18/2019. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Carol Goodman at BookBrowse
The Night Visitors jacket River Road jacket Arcadia Falls jacket The Night Villa jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Carol Goodman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Jeffrey Eugenides

    Jeffrey Eugenides

    Jeffrey Eugenides was born in Detroit, Michigan, in 1960. He graduated magna cum laude from Brown University, and received an M.A. in English and Creative Writing from Stanford University in 1986. His first ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Lake of Dead Languages

    Try:
    Middlesex
    by Jeffrey Eugenides

  • Jane Heller

    Jane Heller

    Jane Heller promoted dozens of bestselling authors before becoming one herself. She is the author of thirteen books including Confessions of a She-Fan, An Ex to Grind, Infernal Affairs, Name Dropping,Female Intelligence, and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Lake of Dead Languages

    Try:
    Female Intelligence
    by Jane Heller

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

for a year of great reading
about exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Prince and the Coyote
    The Prince and the Coyote
    by David Bowles
    At fifteen, Crown Prince Acolmiztli is preparing to enter the calmecac, the temple school that will ...
  • Book Jacket: North Woods
    North Woods
    by Daniel Mason
    "History haunts him who does not honor it." This incidental line from Daniel Mason's North Woods ...
  • Book Jacket
    One Puzzling Afternoon
    by Emily Critchley
    While British author Emily Critchley's graceful novel One Puzzling Afternoon is about cognitive ...
  • Book Jacket: A Haunting in Hialeah Gardens
    A Haunting in Hialeah Gardens
    by Raul Palma
    Raul Palma's debut novel A Haunting in Hialeah Gardens introduces Hugo Contreras, who came to the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Julia
by Sandra Newman
From critically acclaimed novelist Sandra Newman, a brilliantly relevant retelling of Orwell's 1984 from the point of Smith's lover, Julia.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Alfie and Me
    by Carl Safina

    A moving account of raising, then freeing, an orphaned screech owl. Three starred reviews!

  • Book Jacket

    The Witches at the End of the World
    by Chelsea Iversen

    Two sisters find themselves at odds in this historical fantasy set during a dark Norwegian winter.

Who Said...

The library is the temple of learning, and learning has liberated more people than all the wars in history

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.