Pamela Rotner Sakamoto biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Pamela Rotner Sakamoto
Photo: Nathan Tibbetts

Pamela Rotner Sakamoto

Pamela Rotner Sakamoto Biography

Pamela Rotner Sakamoto is a historian and the author of Japanese Diplomats and Jewish Refugees. Fluent in Japanese, Pamela lived in Kyoto and Tokyo for seventeen years. She works offsite as an expert consultant on Japan-related projects for the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C.

Pamela Rotner Sakamoto's website

This bio was last updated on 01/20/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

A Q & A with Pamela Rotner Sakamoto, author of Midnight in Broad Daylight: A Japanese American Family Caught Between Two Worlds

Could you describe your book?

Midnight in Broad Daylight is a true account of a Japanese American family with brothers in opposing armies, slated to be on the same island when the atomic bomb is dropped over Hiroshima, hastening an end to the war. Their mother and brother are in Hiroshima. It is a story of war and internment, prejudice and discrimination in two countries, loss and reconciliation, and unwavering love across cultures.


How did you discover this story?

By chance. In 1994, I had recently moved to Tokyo and was working on my dissertation about a Japanese diplomat who had rescued Jews during the Holocaust. Several survivors were visiting Japan for the first time in fifty years. I received a press release and joined them as an observer. Harry Fukuhara, who would become the protagonist in my book, was accompanying them as a favor to a friend. He was bilingual, politically connecte"d, and immensely dignified, but I did not know him beyond an introduction. When I remarked to a young filmmaker that the Holocaust survivor stories were remarkable, she replied, "If you think their stories are incredible, you should talk to Harry." Over the course of four years, Harry shared his ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Pamela Rotner Sakamoto at BookBrowse
Midnight in Broad Daylight jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Pamela Rotner Sakamoto but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Yangzom Brauen

    Yangzom Brauen

    Born to a Swiss father and Tibetan mother, Yangzom Brauen is an actress, model, and political activist. She lives in both Los Angeles and Berlin and has appeared in a number of German and American films. She is also very ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Midnight in Broad Daylight

    Try:
    Across Many Mountains
    by Yangzom Brauen

  • Keggie Carew

    Keggie Carew

    Keggie Carew has lived in London, West Cork, Barcelona, Texas, and New Zealand. Before writing, her career was in contemporary art. She has studied English literature at Goldsmiths University of London, run an alternative art... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Midnight in Broad Daylight

    Try:
    Dadland
    by Keggie Carew

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Calypso
    Calypso
    by David Sedaris
    David Sedaris' Calypso is every bit as hilarious and irreverent, as clever and incisive, as ...
  • Book Jacket: The Word Is Murder
    The Word Is Murder
    by Anthony Horowitz
    A wealthy widow enters a London funeral home to make arrangements for her own funeral. Six hours ...
  • Book Jacket: Call Me American
    Call Me American
    by Abdi Nor Iftin
    As a boy growing up in Mogadishu, the capital of Somalia, Abdi Nor Iftin loved watching action ...
  • Book Jacket
    Driving Miss Norma
    by Ramie Liddle, Tim Bauerschmidt
    In my cultural life, I've met and been awed by two Normas: The demanding, clueless, fiercely ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Salt Houses by Hala Alyan

From a dazzling new literary voice, a debut novel about a Palestinian family caught between present and past.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Place for Us
    by Fatima Farheen Mirza

    A deeply moving story of love, identity and belonging--the first novel from Sarah Jessica Parker's new imprint.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win If You See Me, Don't Say Hi

If You See Me, Don't Say Hi by Neel Patel

Patel's stories introduce a bold and timely new literary voice.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A P Saved I A P E

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.