Announcing our Top 20 Books of 2022 and Award Winners

Pamela Rotner Sakamoto Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Pamela Rotner Sakamoto
Photo: Nathan Tibbetts

Pamela Rotner Sakamoto

An interview with Pamela Rotner Sakamoto

A Q & A with Pamela Rotner Sakamoto, author of Midnight in Broad Daylight: A Japanese American Family Caught Between Two Worlds

Could you describe your book?

Midnight in Broad Daylight is a true account of a Japanese American family with brothers in opposing armies, slated to be on the same island when the atomic bomb is dropped over Hiroshima, hastening an end to the war. Their mother and brother are in Hiroshima. It is a story of war and internment, prejudice and discrimination in two countries, loss and reconciliation, and unwavering love across cultures.


How did you discover this story?

By chance. In 1994, I had recently moved to Tokyo and was working on my dissertation about a Japanese diplomat who had rescued Jews during the Holocaust. Several survivors were visiting Japan for the first time in fifty years. I received a press release and joined them as an observer. Harry Fukuhara, who would become the protagonist in my book, was accompanying them as a favor to a friend. He was bilingual, politically connecte"d, and immensely dignified, but I did not know him beyond an introduction. When I remarked to a young filmmaker that the Holocaust survivor stories were remarkable, she replied, "If you think their stories are incredible, you should talk to Harry." Over the course of four years, Harry shared his story. At that point, I broached a possible book. Harry promptly introduced me to his surviving brothers. 


Why were you drawn to this story?

When I finished my dissertation and an academic book, I realized that while I was proud of my research, the heart of the story – people's emotions – had not been fully developed. If I ever wrote another book, I wanted to interview my subjects and capture their reactions to cataclysmic events, rather than simply rely on written primary sources.
Harry was an esteemed retired colonel in the U.S. Army's Military Intelligence Service who had been decorated by the Japanese government for his contribution to U.S.-Japan relations. He was at a point where he wanted to take stock of his life. So were his siblings. I could not get their story out of my mind.


What surprised you?

The more I dug, the richer the soil. Harry and his youngest brother Frank -- who had been a private assigned to a suicide squad in the Japanese Imperial Army -- had been interviewed by Japanese and American newspapers for feature stories. But the articles traveled the same ground. When I began to research, I discovered a host of other important people, such as their irrepressible Aunt Kiyo, the founder of a venerable traditional-sweet shop in Hiroshima, and their headstrong sister Mary, who had been interned with Harry at Gila River in Arizona. Each possessed a compelling story.


What were some memorable occasions in unearthing this story?

Frank, my travel partner, and I were walking down the street to his family's former home in Hiroshima one day when a woman came running, calling his name. She was his former neighbor Masako who had moved back to the area after decades away. Frank and Harry's mother Kinu had doted upon Masako, treating her like a daughter. They had spent a lot of time together during the war. Masako was with Kinu on the morning that the atomic bomb exploded over Hiroshima. In multiple interviews over several years, Masako retraced their steps that fateful morning. I corroborated her account with Japanese documents. Her recollections were accurate.

Harry suspected that he might meet his brothers as enemies on the battlefield. While he was island-hopping across the Pacific as a POW interrogator with the US Army, a POW recognized him in New Guinea. They had been neighbors but not friends in Hiroshima. In fact, the man had fought with Harry, and Harry suspected that this man – named Matsuura – disliked him because he was Japanese American. But it was precisely because they had fought that Matsuura recognized Harry at the front. "Fighting brings intimacy," Matsuura told me in an interview in Hiroshima. Although Harry feared that his family had perished in the bomb, his encounter with Matsuura reminded him that even the unlikely was possible. Harry decided to go find his family in Hiroshima.


What would you like readers to take away?

On one level, I hope that readers simply find this an engrossing story about an American family that could be any ethnicity with immigrant parents from any given nation. I hope that they connect with the story and their own heritage. Moreover, what happened during World War II could just as easily happen now between siblings with one in the United States and others in a trouble spot elsewhere.

On another level, I hope that the book is a cautionary tale about the perils and costs of wartime hysteria, racial prejudice, and unjust internment. Last year, Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia addressed students at the University of Hawaii's law school. "In times of war, the laws fall silent," he said in Latin. He predicted that an internment could happen again. In the wake of 9/11, the Japanese American community was the first to support Muslim Americans as they faced suspicion and a rash of hate crimes. Our nation has to confront its history, including its blemishes, and stay vigilant to prevent miscarriages of justice from occurring again.

At the same time, we should celebrate the occasions that we get it right. Approximately 6,000 Japanese Americans served in the Military Intelligence Service during the war and the Occupation of Japan. They made invaluable contributions. Yet Japanese Americans living in Japan during the war -- like Harry's brothers -- had to suppress their background and blend in for fear of reprisals. Japan failed to utilize their strengths. The United States benefited.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Pamela Rotner Sakamoto at BookBrowse
Midnight in Broad Daylight jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Pamela Rotner Sakamoto but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Yangzom Brauen

    Yangzom Brauen

    Born to a Swiss father and Tibetan mother, Yangzom Brauen is an actress, model, and political activist. She lives in both Los Angeles and Berlin and has appeared in a number of German and American films. She is also very ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Midnight in Broad Daylight

    Try:
    Across Many Mountains
    by Yangzom Brauen

  • Keggie Carew

    Keggie Carew

    Keggie Carew has lived in London, West Cork, Barcelona, Texas, and New Zealand. Before writing, her career was in contemporary art. She has studied English literature at Goldsmiths University of London, run an alternative art... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Midnight in Broad Daylight

    Try:
    Dadland
    by Keggie Carew

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Voted 2022 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Geraldine Brooks creates a ...
  • Book Jacket: In Love
    In Love
    by Amy Bloom
    Voted 2022 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. In 2019, author Amy Bloom and her...
  • Book Jacket: Remarkably Bright Creatures
    Remarkably Bright Creatures
    by Shelby Van Pelt
    Voted 2022 Best Debut Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Shelby Van Pelt's debut novel, ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Scatterlings
    by Resoketswe Martha Manenzhe

    The debut novel of a gifted storyteller who has become a sensation in her native South Africa.

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Cradles of the Reich
by Jennifer Coburn
Three women, a nation seduced by a madman, and the Nazi breeding program to create a so-called master race.
Who Said...

Choose an author as you would a friend

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.