Andrea Kayne Kaufman biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Andrea Kayne Kaufman

Andrea Kayne Kaufman

How to pronounce Andrea Kayne Kaufman: cane KOFFman

Andrea Kayne Kaufman Biography

Andrea Kayne Kaufman has guided and mentored hundreds of students as a professor at the DePaul University College of Education and is currently the chair of Department of Leadership, Language and Curriculum. A professor and attorney who earned a bachelor's degree from Vassar College, a master's degree in Education from Harvard University and her Juris Doctor from the University of Pennsylvania Law School, Andrea has students who are primarily teachers, seeking masters and doctoral degrees in Educational Leadership to serve as principals and superintendents.

In her personal and professional life, Andrea has been involved with issues relating to special needs, in particular Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder. Her debut novel, Oxford Messed Up, is a literary love story that transports readers on a redemptive and emotional journey, where the academic world of Oxford University serves as a backdrop for true learning, self-discovery, and transcendent love. Andrea's professional expertise and personal experience have given her the vision to create a novel hailed by experts as one of the first to present the inner workings and treatment of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder accurately, from the inside out. Oxford Messed Up was awarded the Best Adult Fiction E-Book Gold Medal by the Independent Publisher Book Awards in 2012.



This bio was last updated on 11/28/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

In both an in-depth interview and an author Q&A respectively, Andrea Kayne Kaufman discusses her novel Oxford Messed Up, the portrayal of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder, her enjoyment of Van Morrison's music, and the hope that comes with transcendent love.

In both an in-depth interview and an author Q&A respectively, Andrea Kayne Kaufman discusses her novel Oxford Messed Up, the portrayal of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder, her enjoyment of Van Morrison's music, and the hope that comes with transcendent love.

  1. What draws you to writing?
    My fantasy life and real life commingle in my writing in ways that help me reflect and understand what I am feeling and what I believe. Writing makes me feel like I'm stepping into someone's oversize shoes and roaming through their strange new world. There is freedom in writing. You can go anywhere, whether geographical or emotional, be anyone, whether fantastic or realistic, feel anything, whether familiar or new. While my characters and their worlds are different from me and my world, there are key similarities and themes that come from my own experience and reflect many epiphanies I have had. Even though I wrote Oxford Messed Up at 44, I have been writing every day before and every day since. I need to write. It's my morning exercise. My morning meditation. My morning prayer.


  2. How do you generate your ideas?
    My ideas come from so many places inside and outside of my self and life. They can come from intense experiences like dealing...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Andrea Kayne Kaufman at BookBrowse
Oxford Messed Up jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Andrea Kayne Kaufman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Peter Bognanni

    Peter Bognanni

    Peter Bognanni is a writer currently based in Saint Paul, Minnesota. His first novel, The House of Tomorrow, is out now from Amy Einhorn Books (Putnam). He attended the Iowa Writers' Workshop not long ago, and his short ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Oxford Messed Up

    Try:
    The House of Tomorrow
    by Peter Bognanni

  • Stephanie Butland

    Stephanie Butland

    Stephanie Butland lives with her family near the sea in the North East of England. She writes in a studio at the bottom of her garden, and when she's not writing, she trains people to think more creatively. For fun, she reads... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Oxford Messed Up

    Try:
    The Lost for Words Bookshop
    by Stephanie Butland

We recommend 8 similar authors

View all 8 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: In Extremis
    In Extremis
    by Lindsey Hilsum
    International journalist Marie Colvin pushed the limits in her work and her personal life. Widely ...
  • Book Jacket: Vita Nostra
    Vita Nostra
    by Marina and Sergey Dyachenko
    Vita Nostra by Ukrainian authors Sergey and Marina Dyachenko is one of those novels that defies ...
  • Book Jacket: And The Ocean Was Our Sky
    And The Ocean Was Our Sky
    by Patrick Ness
    Patrick Ness has developed a reputation for experimental literature executed well, and his latest, ...
  • Book Jacket: Let It Bang
    Let It Bang
    by RJ Young
    Every interracial love story is an exercise in complications. R.J. Young and Lizzie Stafford's ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Unsheltered
by Barbara Kingsolver

A timely novel that explores the human capacity for resiliency and compassion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Ladder to the Sky
    by John Boyne

    A seductive, unputdownable psychodrama following one brilliant, ruthless man.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Severance

Severance by Ling Ma

An offbeat, wryly funny, apocalyptic satire that is featured on more than twenty 2018 "Must Read" lists!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I Ain't O U T F L S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.