Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Carolyn Crowder biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Carolyn Crowder
Photo: Adlerian Arizona

Carolyn Crowder

Carolyn Crowder Biography

Dr. Carolyn Crowder is the author of three parenting books, the first of which, Backtalk, was a bestseller. All three books have been sold to foreign publishers. She has appeared on national television including 20/20, Dateline, The Today Show, The Early Show, and Lifetime Live. Dr. Crowder has also been interviewed on TV programs and radio shows in major cities throughout the US. She is a tireless promoter of the Adlerian model of childrearing. Adlerians are concerned with understanding the unique and private beliefs and strategies (one's lifestyle), that each individual creates in childhood and which then serve as the individual's reference for attitudes, behavior, and one's private view of self, others and the world.

Dr. Crowder works part-time in the Sunnyside School District, at Los Ranchitos School, as a therapist for special education/ emotionally disabled elementary students. In addition to working with young students, she serves as a consultant to faculty, staff, and parents. Dr. Crowder maintains a small private practice in the afternoons. She was trained by Oscar Christensen and did her doctoral dissertation on the childrearing practices and philosophy of Zapotec Indians in rural Oaxaca, Mexico. She received her PH.D. in 1980.



This bio was last updated on 10/03/2017. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Carolyn Crowder at BookBrowse
Backtalk jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Carolyn Crowder but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

We recommend 1 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.