William Fiennes biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

William Fiennes
Photo: Joe Miller

William Fiennes

How to pronounce William Fiennes: fines

William Fiennes Biography

William Fiennes was brought up in Oxfordshire and studied at Oxford University.

His first book, The Snow Geese, was published in 2002, and follows the migration of the snow geese from Texas to Baffin Island. It was shortlisted for the 2002 Samuel Johnson Prize and won the 2003 Hawthornden Prize, Somerset Maugham Award and Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award. His second book, The Music Room, evokes the author's childhood in an English castle with his family and his disabled brother. It was shortlisted for a number of awards, including the 2009 Costa Biography Award and the 2010 Ondaatje Prize.

He spent two years as Fellow in the Creative Arts at Wolfson College, Oxford and in 2007 became Writer-in-Residence at the American School in London and at Cranford Community College, Hounslow. He is Director and Co-Founder of the charity, First Story, which supports creativity and literacy in challenging secondary schools.

Fiennes has also written for magazines and newspapers, including , The Observer and The Times Literary Supplement. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2009.



This bio was last updated on 01/09/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by William Fiennes at BookBrowse
The Music Room jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for William Fiennes but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jennifer Finney Boylan

    Jennifer Finney Boylan

    Jennifer Finney Boylan is Professor of English at Colby College in Maine and the author of the bestseller She’s Not There, as well as the acclaimed novels The Planets and Getting In. In addition to her novels, Boylan has... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Music Room

    Try:
    I'm Looking Through You
    by Jennifer Finney Boylan

  • Thomas Chatterton Williams

    Thomas Chatterton Williams

    Thomas Chatterton Williams holds a Bachelor’s degree in philosophy from Georgetown University and a Master’s degree from the Cultural Reporting and Criticism program at New York University. In 2007, he wrote an op-... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Music Room

    Try:
    Losing My Cool
    by Thomas Chatterton Williams

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

To be ignorant of what occurred before you were born is to remain always a child

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Almost Sisters
    by Joshilyn Jackson

    A powerful, emotionally resonant novel of the South.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.