MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Jennifer Finney Boylan biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Jennifer Finney Boylan
© 2007 James Bowdoin

Jennifer Finney Boylan

Jennifer Finney Boylan Biography

Jennifer Finney Boylan is Professor of English at Colby College in Maine and the author of the bestseller She’s Not There, as well as the acclaimed novels The Planets and Getting In. In addition to her novels, Boylan has penned a collection of short stories, three memoirs, and six young adult books, four of them written under a pseudonym. A three-time guest of The Oprah Winfrey Show, she has also appeared on Larry King Live, Today, NPR's Marketplace, and 48 Hours, and has played herself on ABC’s All My Children. Boylan has spoken widely about gender, diversity and imagination at conferences, colleges, law firms, and bookstores across the country. Her most recent book is the novel Long Black Veil, published by Penguin Random House in April 2017. Two other current projects are Falcon Quinn and the Bullies of Greenblud, an anti-bullying YA project; and the anthology of women writing about home, This is the Place.

She lives in Belgrade Lakes, Maine with her family.

Jennifer Finney Boylan's website

This bio was last updated on 06/11/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Interview

Jennifer Finney Boylan discusses her memoir "I'm Looking Through You", what it means to be haunted and how people can make peace with the 'ghosts' that dwell in their hearts.

I'm Looking Through You takes place in the atmospheric and very palpable setting of Pennsylvania in what you describe as the Coffin House.  In fact, the house itself is one of your memoir's more prominent characters.  Please explain.

I believe that people's characters are shaped, in part, by the houses in which they live. Surely this house has left its mark on me. For a long time I think I felt, in spite of my sense of humor, that I was a fundamentally "haunted" person, and I wondered, for years, how I was going to make peace with my many ghosts.

The Coffin House - named after its builder, Lemuel Coffin, was a three story Victorian eyesore, in the suburbs of Philadelphia, on the Main Line. It had a creepy lightless attic, in which we occasionally heard mysterious footsteps, and a vast dusty basement, in one corner of which was a sign that said, "BILL HUNT: LABOROTORY." In the deed to the house, Coffin had said that at no time in the future could the property be used for "a glue factory, a tavern, a starch factory, or other offensive purposes." At the time we worried that this meant we couldn't even legally invite over my grandmother, a woman whose antics - ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Jennifer Finney Boylan at BookBrowse
Long Black Veil jacket I'm Looking Through You jacket She's Not There jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Jennifer Finney Boylan but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Cris Beam

    Cris Beam

    Cris Beam is the author of Transparent and has written for public radio's This American Life, as well as for several national magazines. She has an MFA in writing from Columbia and teaches creative writing at Columbia, NYU, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    She's Not There

    Try:
    I Am J
    by Cris Beam

  • Jeffrey Eugenides

    Jeffrey Eugenides

    Jeffrey Eugenides was born in Detroit, Michigan, in 1960. He graduated magna cum laude from Brown University, and received an M.A. in English and Creative Writing from Stanford University in 1986. His first ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Long Black Veil

    Try:
    Middlesex
    by Jeffrey Eugenides

We recommend 18 similar authors

View all 18 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Father of Lions
by Louise Callaghan

A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.