Douglas C. Waller biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Douglas C. Waller
Photo: douglascwaller.com

Douglas C. Waller

Douglas C. Waller Biography

Douglas Waller is a veteran magazine correspondent, author and lecturer. In almost two decades as a Washington journalist, he has covered the Pentagon, Congress, the State Department, the White House and the CIA for such prestigious publications as Time and Newsweek.

Waller is the author or co-author of eight books, including Wild Bill Donovan, Big Red: Three Months On Board A Trident Nuclear Submarine, and Air Warriors: The Inside Story of the Making of a Navy Pilot.

Born in Norfolk, Virginia on June 30, 1949, Waller holds a B.A. in English from Wake Forest University and an M.A. in Urban Administration from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. A former captain in the U.S. Army Reserve, he lives in Annandale, Virginia.

From the author's website

Douglas C. Waller's website

This bio was last updated on 01/08/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Douglas C. Waller at BookBrowse
Wild Bill Donovan jacket Air Warriors jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Douglas C. Waller but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • William Langewiesche

    William Langewiesche

    William Langewiesche is the international correspondent for Vanity Fair and prior to that was was a national correspondent for The Atlantic Monthly. A professional pilot for many years, he is the author of several books,... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Air Warriors

    Try:
    Inside The Sky
    by William Langewiesche

  • Frederick Libby

    Frederick Libby

    Frederick Libby was born in Sterling, Colorado and died in Los Angeles, California in 1970 leaving behind his memoir which was published in August, 2000 as Horses Don't Fly.

    Born and raised on a ranch in Sterling he ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Air Warriors

    Try:
    Horses Don't Fly
    by Frederick Libby

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: And The Ocean Was Our Sky
    And The Ocean Was Our Sky
    by Patrick Ness
    Patrick Ness has developed a reputation for experimental literature executed well, and his latest, ...
  • Book Jacket: Let It Bang
    Let It Bang
    by RJ Young
    Every interracial love story is an exercise in complications. R.J. Young and Lizzie Stafford's ...
  • Book Jacket: A Spark of Light
    A Spark of Light
    by Jodi Picoult
    The central premise of A Spark of Light involves a gunman holding hostages within the confines of a ...
  • Book Jacket: An Absolutely Remarkable Thing
    An Absolutely Remarkable Thing
    by Hank Green
    As one half of the extremely popular YouTube duo "Vlogbrothers" (the other half being his brother ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Unsheltered
by Barbara Kingsolver

A timely novel that explores the human capacity for resiliency and compassion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Ladder to the Sky
    by John Boyne

    A seductive, unputdownable psychodrama following one brilliant, ruthless man.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Paris Echo
    by Sebastian Faulks

    A story of resistance, complicity, and an unlikely, transformative friendship.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Severance

Severance by Ling Ma

An offbeat, wryly funny, apocalyptic satire that is featured on more than twenty 2018 "Must Read" lists!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I Ain't O U T F L S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.