Frederick Libby biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Frederick Libby

Frederick Libby

How to pronounce Frederick Libby: fred-ric libby

Frederick Libby Biography

Frederick Libby was born in Sterling, Colorado and died in Los Angeles, California in 1970 leaving behind his memoir which was published in August, 2000 as Horses Don't Fly.

Born and raised on a ranch in Sterling he learned horse breaking, cattle driving and had many humorous adventures as a child. In his 20's he ventured into France with the Canadian Army and eventually fought in the air battle over the Western Front. When he returned to the U.S. after WWI he became an oil wildcatter and later founded a Cargo Airline which later became Western Airlines.

In the 1960's historian friends encouraged him to write his memoirs. Thus, Horses Don't Fly. He also wrote many short stories and a screenplay which are yet unpublished.



This bio was last updated on 06/14/2011. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Frederick Libby at BookBrowse
Horses Don't Fly jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Frederick Libby but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Author Image Not Available

    Greg King

    Greg King was born in 1964. he first became interested in history at the age of twelve, after watching two films about Imperial Russia's last royal family, the Romanovs, after which he started reading all the books he could ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Horses Don't Fly

    Try:
    Lusitania
    by Greg King

  • Edward Beauclerk Maurice

    Edward Beauclerk Maurice

    Edward Beauclerk Maurice, who was born in 1913, traveled to the Arctic at the age of sixteen, where he worked at a number of trading posts on behalf of the Hudson's Bay Company. In 1935 he left Baffin Island, returning to... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Horses Don't Fly

    Try:
    The Last Gentleman Adventurer
    by Edward Beauclerk Maurice

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Castle of Water
    Castle of Water
    by Dane Huckelbridge
    When a whopping 24 out of 27 readers give a book 4 or 5 stars, you know you have a winner on your ...
  • Book Jacket: Havana
    Havana
    by Mark Kurlansky
    History with flavor...culture with spice...language with gusto...it would be hard to find a better ...
  • Book Jacket: Temporary People
    Temporary People
    by Deepak Unnikrishnan
    In this powerful and innovative collection of 28 short stories, Deepak Unnikrishnan presents a ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest
by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Stars Are Fire
    by Anita Shreve

    An exquisitely suspenseful novel about an extraordinary young woman tested by a catastrophic event.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    No One Is Coming to Save Us
    by Stephanie Powell Watts

    One of Entertainment Weekly, Nylon and Elle's most anticipated books of 2017.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

A classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Y S M B, I'll S Y

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -