Will North biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Will North

Will North

Will North Biography

Will North credits writing with being his "meal ticket" out of a chaotic and sometimes frightening family in a steadily deteriorating neighborhood in Yonkers, just over the New York City border. It was his ticket to scholarships for an undergraduate degree in English, and then a graduate degree in journalism.

Writing carried North through a series of jobs and ultimately, at the age of 30, to an appointed position in the Carter administration. Much as he loved that job, one of the best things that ever happened to North was the election of Ronald Reagan, who promptly fired him and forced North to choose between holding a job and becoming an author. North chose the latter.

Over the years, and under a different name, for Will North is a pen name, he has written more than a dozen non fiction books. He became a ghostwriter—for an American President, a Vice-President, a famous mountaineer and explorer, a team of Everest climbers, a group of dinosaur-hunters, and a pioneering doctor, among others.

North also wrote a series of off-the-beaten-track guidebooks to the place he loves most in the world: Britain. He has since made extensive forays into fiction as well.

Will North's website

This bio was last updated on 12/28/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Will North discusses his second novel, Water, Stone, Heart, set in the Cornish village of Boscastle (Q&A contains plot spoilers).

Warning - this Q&A contains plot spoilers.....
 

Will North discusses his second novel, Water, Stone Heart

At the core of your novel, Water, Stone, Heart, is a deep and difficult question: "Can a woman who has been sexually abused as a child ever form a healthy and trusting intimate relationship with a man?" How does a man come to write about such things?

The standard instruction to any would-be novelist is, "write what you know." I was once very much in love with a woman who had been abused as a child. I did not, at the time, fully comprehend the terrible weight anyone with that tragic history must bear—partly because she would not talk about it. The relationship did not survive. I dug into the subject and was stunned to learn that experts believe at least a quarter of all women in the U.S. have been sexually abused as children. Relationships are difficult enough to manage and maintain; loving someone who has been abused requires understanding both the pain, grief, fear, and anger the survivor carries and their long term effects on behavior. I guess I wish I knew then what I know now.


Your character, Nicola, seems to swing between "come hither" and &...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Will North at BookBrowse
Water, Stone, Heart jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Will North but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Diana Abu-Jaber

    Diana Abu-Jaber

    Diana Abu-Jaber is the author of several novels, including Arabian Jazz, Crescent, and Birds of Paradise. Crescent was awarded the 2004 PEN Center USA Award for Literary Fiction and the Before Columbus Foundation's American ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Water, Stone, Heart

    Try:
    Crescent
    by Diana Abu-Jaber

  • Yasmin Crowther

    Yasmin Crowther

    Yasmin Crowther is the product of an Anglo-Iranian household (Iranian mother and British father). She says that she "feels like I am a part of both places and not fully understood by either place", and that's ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Water, Stone, Heart

    Try:
    The Saffron Kitchen
    by Yasmin Crowther

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Calypso
    Calypso
    by David Sedaris
    David Sedaris' Calypso is every bit as hilarious and irreverent, as clever and incisive, as ...
  • Book Jacket: The Word Is Murder
    The Word Is Murder
    by Anthony Horowitz
    A wealthy widow enters a London funeral home to make arrangements for her own funeral. Six hours ...
  • Book Jacket: Call Me American
    Call Me American
    by Abdi Nor Iftin
    As a boy growing up in Mogadishu, the capital of Somalia, Abdi Nor Iftin loved watching action ...
  • Book Jacket
    Driving Miss Norma
    by Ramie Liddle, Tim Bauerschmidt
    In my cultural life, I've met and been awed by two Normas: The demanding, clueless, fiercely ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Salt Houses by Hala Alyan

From a dazzling new literary voice, a debut novel about a Palestinian family caught between present and past.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Place for Us
    by Fatima Farheen Mirza

    A deeply moving story of love, identity and belonging--the first novel from Sarah Jessica Parker's new imprint.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win If You See Me, Don't Say Hi

If You See Me, Don't Say Hi by Neel Patel

Patel's stories introduce a bold and timely new literary voice.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A P Saved I A P E

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.