Michael F. Roizen M.D. biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Michael F. Roizen M.D.

Michael F. Roizen M.D.

Michael F. Roizen M.D. Biography

Michael F. Roizen, MD (b. January 7, 1946 in Buffalo, New York) is cofounder of RealAge and chairman of the RealAge Scientific Advisory Board. He has co-authored several health and wellness books, most notably Real Age: Are You As Young As You Can Be? in 1999, which explains his NewAge concept in detail. The book became a #1 New York Times bestseller and was awarded the Best Wellness Book of 1999 by the Books for a Better Life Awards. RealAge has been translated into more than 20 languages and was #1 in four other countries.

Dr. Roizen has given over 1,400 lectures to professional medical groups and has been recognized with over 20 professional lectureships. He has appeared on The Oprah Winfrey Show 13 times, Today 17 times, 20/20 (3 times), CBN (15 times), CNN, CBS, Good Morning America (24 times), Canada AM (28 times), The Montel Williams Show, Larry King Live, and has four PBS fundraising specials. Two of his PBS specials - YOU On A Diet, and Longevity Factors - have both received acclaim, and widespread distribution as well. He and Mehmet Oz write a monthly column for Reader's Digest, and a quarterly column for the nursing magazine, Every Woman, and a daily newspaper column syndicated by King syndication. He and Mehmet also record 1 hour a day of radio for Oprah and Friends, on satellite radio and a cable network. He also has a 2-hour 26-station Terrestrial show entitled: YOU The Owner's Manual Radio Show, live every Saturday. He has been featured in Fortune, O, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Biography, People, US, Men's Health, and Prevention.

Roizen is past chairman of a Food and Drug Administration advisory committee and a former editor of six medical journals. He has published more than 155 peer-reviewed scientific papers, 100 textbook chapters, 30 editorials, and 4 medical books. He has also received 12 U.S. patents and several foreign patents. He is currently the chief wellness officer of the Cleveland Clinic and chair of the Division of Anesthesiology, Critical Care Medicine and Comprehensive Pain Management at the Cleveland Clinic.

Roizen and his wife Nancy, a developmental pediatrician, live in Cleveland, Ohio. They have a daughter, Jenny, and son, Jeffrey.



This bio was last updated on 08/27/2017. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Michael F. Roizen M.D. at BookBrowse
You jacket Real Age jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Michael F. Roizen M.D. but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Dr Perricone

    Dr Perricone

    Dr. Perricone completed medical school in just 3 years, graduating with distinction. He completed his internship in Pediatrics at Yale Medical School and his Dermatology Residency at Ford Medical Center. Dr. Perricone is an ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Real Age

    Try:
    The Wrinkle Cure
    by Dr Perricone

  • Isadore Rosenfeld M.D.

    Isadore Rosenfeld M.D.

    Isadore Rosenfeld, MD, is the the author of seven best sellers, including Live Now, Age Later, as well as a textbook for doctors, and is one of America's best known and most trusted physicians. One of the leading and most ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Real Age

    Try:
    Power To The Patient
    by Isadore Rosenfeld M.D.

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Bloodbath Nation
    Bloodbath Nation
    by Paul Auster
    In recent years, Booker Prize­–nominated novelist Paul Auster has increasingly turned to ...
  • Book Jacket: The Nazi Conspiracy
    The Nazi Conspiracy
    by Brad Meltzer, Josh Mensch
    The Nazi Conspiracy by Brad Meltzer and Josh Mensch was a big hit with our First Impressions readers...
  • Book Jacket
    Yonder
    by Jabari Asim
    The captivating historical novel Yonder turns an intimate lens towards the tragedy and survivorship ...
  • Book Jacket: After Sappho
    After Sappho
    by Selby Wynn Schwartz

    "Someone will remember us, I say, even in another time."
    —Sappho, fragment ...


Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Love of My Life
by Rosie Walsh
An up-all-night love story wrapped in a mystery from the New York Times bestselling author of Ghosted.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Moonrise Over New Jessup
    by Jamila Minnicks

    "Jamila Minnicks pulled me into pages of history I'd never turned before."—Barbara Kingsolver

  • Book Jacket

    This Other Eden
    by Paul Harding

    A novel inspired by the true story of Malaga Island from the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Tinkers.

  • Book Jacket

    Wade in the Water
    by Nyani Nkrumah

    A gripping debut novel of female power and vulnerability, race, and class set in a small Mississippi town in the early 1980s.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

It's A G T Me

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

There is no worse robber than a bad book.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.