Michael F. Roizen M.D. biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Michael F. Roizen M.D.

Michael F. Roizen M.D.

Michael F. Roizen M.D. Biography

Michael F. Roizen, MD (b. January 7, 1946 in Buffalo, New York) is cofounder of RealAge and chairman of the RealAge Scientific Advisory Board. He has co-authored several health and wellness books, most notably Real Age: Are You As Young As You Can Be? in 1999, which explains his NewAge concept in detail. The book became a #1 New York Times bestseller and was awarded the Best Wellness Book of 1999 by the Books for a Better Life Awards. RealAge has been translated into more than 20 languages and was #1 in four other countries.

Dr. Roizen has given over 1,400 lectures to professional medical groups and has been recognized with over 20 professional lectureships. He has appeared on The Oprah Winfrey Show 13 times, Today 17 times, 20/20 (3 times), CBN (15 times), CNN, CBS, Good Morning America (24 times), Canada AM (28 times), The Montel Williams Show, Larry King Live, and has four PBS fundraising specials. Two of his PBS specials - YOU On A Diet, and Longevity Factors - have both received acclaim, and widespread distribution as well. He and Mehmet Oz write a monthly column for Reader's Digest, and a quarterly column for the nursing magazine, Every Woman, and a daily newspaper column syndicated by King syndication. He and Mehmet also record 1 hour a day of radio for Oprah and Friends, on satellite radio and a cable network. He also has a 2-hour 26-station Terrestrial show entitled: YOU The Owner's Manual Radio Show, live every Saturday. He has been featured in Fortune, O, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Biography, People, US, Men's Health, and Prevention.

Roizen is past chairman of a Food and Drug Administration advisory committee and a former editor of six medical journals. He has published more than 155 peer-reviewed scientific papers, 100 textbook chapters, 30 editorials, and 4 medical books. He has also received 12 U.S. patents and several foreign patents. He is currently the chief wellness officer of the Cleveland Clinic and chair of the Division of Anesthesiology, Critical Care Medicine and Comprehensive Pain Management at the Cleveland Clinic.

Roizen and his wife Nancy, a developmental pediatrician, live in Cleveland, Ohio. They have a daughter, Jenny, and son, Jeffrey.

Link to Michael's website

This biography was last updated on 08/28/2013.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Michael F. Roizen M.D. at BookBrowse
You jacket Real Age jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Michael F. Roizen M.D. but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Dr Perricone

    Dr Perricone

    Dr. Perricone completed medical school in just 3 years, graduating with distinction. He completed his internship in Pediatrics at Yale Medical School and his Dermatology Residency at Ford Medical Center. Dr. Perricone is an ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Real Age

    Try:
    The Wrinkle Cure
    by Dr Perricone

  • Isadore Rosenfeld M.D.

    Isadore Rosenfeld M.D.

    Isadore Rosenfeld, MD, is the the author of seven best sellers, including Live Now, Age Later, as well as a textbook for doctors, and is one of America's best known and most trusted physicians. One of the leading and most ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Real Age

    Try:
    Power To The Patient
    by Isadore Rosenfeld M.D.

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Certain Age
    A Certain Age
    by Beatriz Williams
    Lovers of high-society gossip, there's a new set of players in town. A good 20 out of 23 of our...
  • Book Jacket: The Romanovs
    The Romanovs
    by Simon Sebag Montefiore
    The Romanovs chronicles the reigns of the 20 individuals who were considered members of that dynasty...
  • Book Jacket: Barkskins
    Barkskins
    by Annie Proulx
    Barkskins, by Annie Proulx, is not a book to read quickly. After a month of slow reading, I ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Secret Language of Stones
    by M. J. Rose

    "A fantastic historical tale of war, love, loss and intrigue."
    – Melanie Benjamin

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Miss Jane
    by Brad Watson

    "Starred Review. Sensitive, beautifully precise prose. Highly recommended." - PW

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Spinster
by Kate Bolick

A bold, original, moving book that will inspire fanatical devotion and ignite debate.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Summer Stunner
Summer Giveaway

Win 5 books, each week in July!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

W M T N, W C F All

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

BookBrowse Summer Giveaway

We're giving away
5 books every
week in July!